Yoga Bites- Inversions can help reduce symptoms of anxiety and depression

in #yoga7 years ago

14572914_10153723386626895_202722580790557790_n.jpg


What's my favorite yoga pose?

HEADSTAND!!


And there are many reasons other than the fun that it brings just entering the pose.
Using gravity to reverse the blood flow in the body during an inversion increases the circulation of endorphins helping the brain have an easier time managing mood and hormone levels—making symptoms of anxiety or depression decrease.

Heating inversions (handstand & headstand) get more blood moving to the brain, which results not only in physical invigoration but mental revitalization as well.
Inversions of the cooling type (shoulder stand & legs up the wall) activate the parasympathetic nervous system producing feelings of balance and calm.

So, close your eyes, check with yourself and see what is it that you need. And then go upside down!!! It will make you feel better and smile.

0pzfiig7xd9kx76p685.png

Sort:  

Learning headstands is on my 30 before 30 list! I was building strength a few months back, and was doing yoga about 5 times a week, but I've had about two months off now, and I'm so ready to get back into it and get the headstand down!

you can do it!! especially if you were going 5 days a week... just come back to the mat and practice every day​ trying to do something little like tripod headstand by the wall, this will make you feel more comfortable about being upsidedown.... i bet that you can already do headstand but the upsidedown feeling is what might be that mental block.... its always a mental block lol in time you will feel so normal being in tripod (and im talkng about the variation where your knees are on your elbows) dont even worry about legs in the sky just get used to fliping your perspective and the rest will come in time :)

Thank you for your encouragement!!! I'm determined :)

Keep it up!! I know exactly what you mean tho, every time I slack on my practice I have a hard time getting back on it. But remember showing up is 80% of the battle. Get on a wall and be kind to your neck! I'll be posting a headstand tutorial for diff levels soon!

Awesome! Looking forward to it :) Did my first practice of 2018 yesterday, and it felt great!

I need to start implementing some yoga into my training, I'm sure my balance is just terrible lol

well no one starts with perfect balance, like everything in life, training and consistency are what will help you strengthen your skills! So don't let that stop you, that's just a mental barrier! I'm going to post a tutorial on this soon. I hope it will be helpful for you. Good luck!

Awesome, I'll be watching for it! Thank you!

headstands are my favorite! :)

Wonderful example of how it should be done. I am getting towards it rebuilding my confidence as it were :)

Thank you! Practice against a wall! it's the best for building up confidence :) good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63