Something Different - BUTIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

Tried my first BUTI yoga class on Friday. It is was really fun, but holy hell I'm so sore!! This class uses the muscles differently than more traditional yoga classes. It's very dynamic with shimmying and shaking while holding the postures.

IMG_2182.JPG

The word "Buti" is derived from an ancient Indian maranthi word meaning "the cure for something hidden or kept secret". (I freaking love that definition!) Buti yoga teaches that the power to heal oneself can come from within. It is a fusion of primal movement, tribal dance and plyometrics blended into a dynamic yoga practice.

It's definitely not like classical yoga classes, but I enjoyed the hell out of it.

Maybe I'm odd, but I like being sore like this. It's my body's way of letting me know something was very effective. I will BUTI yoga again. ✌🏽🕉💗

Sort:  

@steemed-open
"the cure for something hidden or kept secret" really is a cool definition isn't it. I like that one too.

I took a general yoga class once. I made it through most of it. Alas I don't bend in so many ways.. :)

Isn't that funny - after a workout you almost look forward to being sore! It's confirmation that you worked your butt off! :)

You made me look on you tube. Yes, I think that would definitely kill afterward. What a great workout!

I hadn't heard about Buti yoga until now - it looks like a fun workout! Embrace the soreness. ✊

for a second i thought it was butt yoga. Yoga's getting really diverse in the practices it offers. NOICe!

Your pain kinda took me back to a couple of years ago. I have had an office job for 25 years, and I took a trip back home for a week in central Alabama. Just so happened my Grandpa was bailing hay that week for the cows. I volunteered to be the loader that walked along and hoisted the bales onto the flatbed. After that couple of full days lifting hay, I felt like I had fallen from the ugly tree and hit every limb on my way down.

I bet that was very painful. But you knew you had worked a good hard day… That's what the soreness tells us.

The soreness is the way you become stronger! It's painful and satisfying at the same time. You make me want to try BUTI sometime!

Congratulations @steemed-open! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like the sounds of Buti Yoga. When I move i'll be checking out some new yoga group. Hey you never know might find one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98