A Message to you REAL PEOPLE regarding REAL YOGA

in #yoga8 years ago (edited)


"There is no mainstream demand [for yoga]. It is way too misunderstood. The closest thing to a mainstream demand for yoga is actually a mainstream demand for a misconception of yoga: that it's a bliss-out for young, skinny, flexy, women."

Mary McInnis Meyer

This misconception leaves out about 99% of the population. My goal is and always has been to share the true essence of what yoga is--and to let you REAL PEOPLE know that it can be life changing. It can change the way you view the world and your perception of the world's response to you. It is not just about the poses or being flexible. It is not fitness.

The misconception tends to cause individuals to undervalue the service being offered. No one bats an eye at $100 per month for their cell phone bill, but with yoga, that's unheard of! "How can I pay $100 per month for YOGA, when I can go to the gym for $40?!"

I have worked so hard to offer a peaceful and safe place for people to discover their practice every time they come to their mats. I have strived daily to create and maintain a consistent schedule with a large variety of (amazing) teachers that is workable for everyone--with at least 4 classes per day, 7 days a week. And then, there is the expectation of making the class styles work for everyone's needs--gentle, yet challenging; physical, yet spiritual, peaceful, yet interesting. Sometimes--actually almost always--this seems impossible.

SO often I want to give up and move on to an easier job. One that easily pays the bills...but my passion keeps me moving forward with the yoga studio--because I do see it making differences in people's lives--and I made commitments to this place, the people that are a part of it, and the new REAL people that have yet to discover what yoga truly will bring to them.

So, how do I get this message out to you REAL people more effectively, so you can discover the complete amazing experience of what yoga (and mindfulness, and meditation, and breathing practices, etc) brings into your life? How do I get to more of you REAL people, who just want to learn how you can live based on what's important and with more joy?

I believe this is accomplished by continuing to spread the authenticity of yoga gracefully and patiently through the medium of my studio, my teaching, and my writing. How much are you willing to pay to have a cell phone or a car every month? How much are you willing to pay to obtain an education about a lifelong practice that will facilitate peace and well-being into your life? Meditate on THAT for awhile. :)

So HERE is my paradigm that makes what I offer different than the other misconceptualized yoga offerings out there:

  1. My mission is to teach you the entire full-faceted system of yoga that can serve every kind of individual.

  2. I will strive to include as many resources as we can that will teach you the value of this yoga system, and make it clear.

Above all else, LOVE resonates throughout what I share through yoga. That is at its very foundation and it permeates all other elements of the space and the practices held within the practice.

Thank you for reading this! I will see you REAL people on your mats~

Namaste'

Sharli
8 Likes

Sort:  

I was fortunate to discover a teacher like you in small town South Africa. The only reason he was here was because his husband got a job here. I went to class 3 or 4 times a week and it is no exaggeration to say my life changed. He left after a year, and I have continued with a pilates fusion practice, which is not the same but better than nothing. My 17 year old daughter is also here on Steemit as @yogidream.scapes and hopes to teach one day. I am middle aged and plump, but that does not mean anything to my practice!

Fantastic, onetree! Namaste'

Up voted and followed

Welcome to Steemit Sharli! I hope you have a great time sharing your passion with everyone in the community! Feel free to come over to Steemit.chat and share your work in some of the channels and engage with some like minded people there as well. :)

Thank you very much! :)

Yoga, when looked upon as a set of exercises only, is wrong and misconceived. There is a lot more to yoga, as you point out, and can change the way you perceive life itself.
Thank you for this wonderful post.

Thank you for the kind words! It seems, when writing is done from a place of true honesty and authenticity, connection can be clearly made with others!

I really like your blog. Following and Upvoted lots. And I'm opening a yoga center too! In the start up phase still. So excited to offer to the community.

Thank you so much for your comment! Good luck on the yoga studio! If you ever need any help or advice, find me on Facebook: Sharli Kiner Ziebarth.

That's really kind of you. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43