Feet First - Foot health and Yoga

in #yoga6 years ago (edited)

Balance, Stability, Weight distribution... A big part of yoga is to integrate these things into your practice. This can be easier said than done. I go through stages where I'm all about the feet and I think about them throughout my practice, then other stages where I don't.
I find one of the most important things is to think about weight distribution in the feet. Also if you tend to 'roll over' to the edge of the foot rather than fully ground down through all four corners. (see below)

Bunions...Over 10 years ago mine starting revealing itself to the world. This, of course, was painful, also set me off balance and still does. I have found through certain exercises within yoga, I can reduce them. (*Reduce pain, size/ inflammation and off set of balance). This is something I never thought possible a few years ago and I was considering an operation.
As cheesy as it sounds, I have learnt to love my bunion. I see it now as a challenge that yoga can truly help. It helps me to feel into my body more and have a heightened 'foot awareness'. I found that when I'm less aware of my feet and not doing specific doing foot exercises, my bunion starts to become painful and more swollen. 'How do I shrink mine?' I hear you cry, take a look below :) WARNING CONTAINS IMAGES OF REAL FEET...

Foot exercises.


Have you ever been in a yoga class and the teacher gets you into Tadasana, and try to find your feet?
Tadasana is brilliant to understand how everything stacks from the ground up. Having a good Tadasana can help you in headstand...really! Get to feel the length of the spine and lift coming from the arches to knees to the hips. A small tuck of the tailbone and lift from the sternum, the descent of the shoulder blades.
These can all be done at the start of the practice to keep the awareness throughout.

Now ground your big toe, lift and spread the small toes.
Press the 'foot pad' underneath the toes to the ground, feel the lift/stretch of the arches, even your weight. This can be done in Tadasana or down dog.

Notice how this draws the toe back into line rather than it being off-set by the bunion? Also this activates the arches (good for collapsed arches)

Now place the toes down (keeping a small spread) lift the heels so your just up on the toes. Try to keep your balance. Do this in Tadasana or slowly lowering to the ground by bending the knees and reaching arms parrel to ground.

Tennis ball roll



Reall good for Plantar fasciitis. Also for stimulating nerve ending, releasing fascia tissue and helping stimulate healthy feet. Feels great too!

Toe squat & roll to top of foot.

This also stretched the tendons to the ankles. This can feel a little painful too start with but will help your feet no end. It makes sure that you use the joints and muscles into the foot that often aren't used directly when walking.
Take the pressure off by shifting the weight forward and using the hands, so that there's not so much directly to the toes.

Toe Squat- make sure the small toe is also involved (apologies for blurriness)


Top of foot

Off the mat into the world


Try to listen to your feet as much as possible. Ever been in a position where your squeezing them into 10-pound shoes? Just think to yourself 'is this really worth it'? Try to invest in shoes that suit your feet, not exaggerate any problems and will be durable. Not only will your feet thank you so will the environment, helping to reduce shoes going to landfill.
Your feet will be carrying you around as long as your on this earth, try to add a little awareness into your daily routine off the matt.

Top tips:

  1. Come to ground, TAKE THE SHOES OFF, walk the grass/ beach & feel your feet.
  2. A little foot rub/ arch massage now and then. Take the time to give gratitude to your feet. In India, they use mustard oil to rub into the soles, as it is believed that all the nadis end in the feet so this helps to detox them whilst you sleep.
  3. Exfoliate with a scrub or pumice in the shower.
  4. Chinese foot patches...these things are amazing! I feel very revitalised after sleeping in these. Make sure to clean the black off them in the morning.

Once the awareness is there you'd be suprised how much difference it can make.
Peace & happy feet, Namaste.

Sort:  

Great read. The acute awareness that you have, due to your bunion, really shows in your post describing the postures very well in a simple but detail manner 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31