Yoga is for everyone!

in #yoga7 years ago

Yesterday I took a few photos in my daughter's (@yogidream.scapes) yoga class. We live in a small town, which like most small towns around the world is the antithesis of the (fake) glamorous instagram type world, which applies to most of us ordinary citizens. The yoga class is no different.

Jade is an awesome teacher and the class consists of mostly fairly unfit, overweight middle-aged people, trying to improve their mind, body and soul. I love the pictures I took for the honesty they portray. I have attending yoga classes for around 4 years, and this is mostly what I see. And celebrate.

Never let the glitzy instagram image of yoga intimidate you. Yoga is the union of your body, your mind, and your soul. Namaste

@onetree

Sort:  

Wow! Great photos! There is so much space for each person! The atmosphere is very easy going and relaxing. A good place to learn yoga!

Cheers.

My daughter was lucky enough to be able to rent a school hall at a token amount. This also keeps the cost of the classes down and some people attend free. We live in quite a poor town, in general.

This is so true! I taught yoga for a few years (2011-2014) at a gym and it was very challenging for me as there are people of all ability levels. The average person who goes to yoga class however many days per week or month is nothing like what you see on social media. I tended to want to teach more difficult classes but there was not as much demand for that as there was for beginner level so I adapted and learned how to interact with and teach those who are just starting out.

A lot of people are very intimidated when they first start and they think that other people will judge them or laugh at them because they're not flexible, strong, etc. but mostly that's not true. Most people in a yoga class are paying attention to their own practice and the instructor and not so much watching for people who aren't good at it. I've had quite a few people tell me they're intimidated by me as they see me doing handstands and crazy stuff like that (not when I taught either, when I was taking a class).

Too many people use others as a measuring stick to judge their own practice and in a more macro perspective their own lives, which isn't how one should view things. I too was nervous when I first started going to class though so I totally get it.

I love seeing people starting out on their journey to a healthier lifestyle.

The thing is the benefits of yoga are exactly the same, no matter which level you can practice at. Also, there are endless subtleties with the simplest of poses which keeps a more basic practice stimulating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79