Yoga: Not About the Perfect Handstand

in #yoga8 years ago

Yoga. Everyone does it. It has found it’s way into mainstream and it is a beautiful thing. Yoga is not about the perfect handstand or how flexible you can be. 

Yoga is the quest to one’s true self. 


I studied yoga at Kripalu Center for Yoga and Health in the Berkshires mountains of western Massachusetts. (www.kripalu.org) I was young and looking for a deeper meaning, purpose, confidence, stillness, I was looking for myself. What I came away with was a lifelong practice of discovery.


The tools I have learned from my yoga practice has led me to a successful career, healthy relationships, deeper understanding of mind, courage to seek truth, desire to discover and a thirst for knowledge.


If you are new to yoga, I can practice with you right now. Ready? Stop. Take a deep breath. I mean a deep, fill up your lungs, chest rising, cannot sip any more air in breath, then mouth open wide; exhale. You my friend, just practice the art of slowing down. 


I am excited to share the tools that have been bestowed upon me. Let me know if you are interested in anything specific. I am happy to have yoga conversations!

Sort:  

I love yoga, I hired a private instructor to come on Monday and Friday to the office and spend an hour with me and my employees. Changed my life.

oh wow! That's awesome @michaelx ! In what way did it change your life? Was it the stretching or the mind set shift?

Greetings missjessica and my other fellow Yogi's. I'm looking forward to sharing insights and experiences with you all. This seems like a great forum in which to do so, as many receptive people, who would benefit from yoga, populate this community. I'm excited about watching this space grow. Namaste.

I just did yoga with you! :-) I think that's a good start. Since a lot of us are tech people, maybe something about something we can do to counteract sitting in a chair all day, typing away and reading things on the computer. I look forward to whatever you decide to share about yoga or anything else. Best wishes!

I know the perfect stretches! Thanks for the suggestion @kenny-crane !

So glad more yogis are showing up here. 🙏🏽

I'm a newcomer. Please, give me some directions to start with. I also know there are diifferent kinds of yoga, so what to choose?

As a newcomer to yoga, I always suggest mindful movement. Getting into specific 'types' of yoga is great but first things first, start breathing a little deeper throughout your day and start moving your spine and joints. I have decided to work on a few posts that will show you what I mean! Thanks for the comment!

Thank you for reply, missjessica. What tehnique of breathing do you use?

I love this post! I hate when people say they're bad at yoga! You can't be "bad" at something that doesn't classify things as "good" and "bad." That being said - I do get excited when I get a little more hang time on my handstand!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43