Insights Into a Yogi's Vinyasa Flow

in #yoga8 years ago (edited)

To flow or not to flow, that is the question.  In yoga, the purpose is to find union and connection, to move the body and clear the mind. Vinyasa yoga is a practice that is comprised of fluid movements that are connected by breath, it is a marriage between prana and flow.  If you practice any type of vinyasa yoga you are likely to find this common flow of postures within the sequence.

  1. Downward Facing Dog
  2. Plank Pose - inhale
  3. Chaturanga - exhale
  4. Upward Facing Dog -inhale
  5. Downward Facing Dog - exhale


Now this flow takes tremendous strength for any practitioner, especially a beginner. It is one of the most used ‘vinyasa’ in even the most basic of classes.  There are plenty of resources out there if you are seeking anatomical alignment so you won’t find that here. What I am most interested in is how these series of postures can turn into a deep meditation clearing you free from the clutter of the mind.


The goal of meditation is not to transcend this life. On the contrary, it gives permission to observe and inquire deeper to the sensations we experience in life. The beginning of the flow, Downward Dog to Plank Pose, reminds me of my strength. I feel my body push against the earth and demands my body to tap into its power. I reflect in those times that I give my power away, my body slouches, chest caves. Just the opposite occurs in plank, my body long, muscles engaged, I push against the earth and feel my power physically and mentally.  



I slowly descend into chaturanga or half push up, I maintain that power as I exhale. I meditate on acknowledging the flow of life filled with highs and lows. Without the lows, I would never truly know how beautiful the good times are. Oh the ebb and flow.  I push into upward dog, often I close my eyes. My chest feels open, my legs are strong and I open my heart and mind to the beautiful gift of life. In this moment I surrender and then I surrender some more.  I feel that connection as I take the deepest breath in filling my lungs to their full capacity.  



The need to control life and make it just as you see it can restrict the outcome.  When you are in the flow of your practice, life, the univese, whatever you wish to call it, life can manifest into something that is more beautiful then you may have ever dreamed.  It happens all the time for me. I am huge into goals. I put my mind on something, I talk about it and take action and I am often met with wonderful results.  What becomes frustrating is when I forget to take deep breaths and surrender to how it all fits together. Sometimes what I plan is not always the best way, I surrender into knowing that I am fully supported in this moment and rest in knowing that it is all good.   I let go in this moment all the pieces of my plan.  I welcome the surrender into the deep space of clarity.  


So the next time you find yourself rocking your ‘vinyasa flow’ take a moment and meditate.  Find what each pose means to you while you clear your mind and move your body.  Yoga is more than a perfect pose, it’s what you find while in the pose, flowing between movements with the marriage of breath that yoga reveals itself.  It’s available to all. I invite you to find your mat. 


Namaste,

Miss Jessica


Sort:  

Great post. I am working on connecting my breath with movement, and it is a truly blissful experience when all is connected. Thanks for sharing 🙏🏽

Great post.
Yes, conscious breath in Yoga practice is a cornerstone ... the bridge between body and mind.
It just ain't Yoga without it!
So wonderful to become aware of it.

Breath is central to Yoga ... because breath is central to life.
Yoga such a valuable set of tools.

Following you.

I write about Yoga here too.

Love Peace & Freedom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44