5 Moves That Will Get You Into Yoga

in #yoga8 years ago


Yoga doesn't have to be difficult. The body seeks to be open and expansive. After hours sitting at a computer (watching the bitcoin market obviously), driving cars, texting, you get the picture, our bodies are slumped, lethargic and lacking energy flow. Start here with these top 5 movements to get you into yoga. 


Cat/Cow

Cat cow is an extension and flexion of the spine. The spine has 6 movements and these are two of them.  Consider as you sit all day the vertebrae compress and gravity takes over. These movements will bring flexibility to the spine and bring mobility to the back, neck and shoulders. 


Start by getting on to all fours also known as table top. First, drop the belly, reach your heart forward and lift your tailbone to the sky all while taking a deep breath in. On your exhale, go into the opposing movement. Something that looks like a cat; round the spine, pull your belly in, chin tucked and tailbone draws under. Cycle through Cat/cow for several breaths. 


Side Stretch

We often think of only front and back, anterior/posterior when it comes to stretching. However, the spine moves in six directions as mentioned. There is also fascia that wraps the entire body that needs to be extended and quite frankly, it just feels good. 


Stand tall and place your right hand on your hip, not your waist but your actual hip. Lift your left hand out and up on a deep inhale, on the exhale reach your torso over to the right, push your hip to the left. This doesn’t have to look pretty. How does it feel?  Make it feel good, stretched and open. Perform this stretch on both sides. 


Twists

Find a seat. You can sit cross legged, you can kneel using blocks as support, find a kitchen chair or even use your computer chair. Hand placement and so forth will vary, however, the intention is the same. Twist, baby, twist! Consider lifting your navel up and over your thigh, feel your shoulders reaching to the side wall. Begin to bring your chin towards your back shoulder. Lift your spine tall.  Hold here for six deep breaths before moving on to the other side. Maybe you will hear a few pops, that's ok. If you ever feel pain: Stop. You have now completed the six movements of the spine. Your back will thank you.

Child's Pose

From table top, bring your toes together and open your knees wide. Sit your hips to your heels as you walk your hands out to the front of you. Let your belly drop in between your thighs and let your forehead rest on the earth, a block or stacked fists.  AHHHHHH, this one is good. Think of the name, this pose is natural for the human body. It brings about comfort, a sense of being grounded and connected.  Try it out in bed for a few moments before or after sleep. We are going for easy here. Try not to make this to complicated. 


Legs Up on the Wall

Just do what the name says. I put my feet up on my head board before I lay flat right before sleep. This is incredibly relaxing. If you are sitting or standing, just plain ol’ upright all day, let gravity work in your favor in this pose! This will decrease any swelling and increase blood flow as your limbs are raised above your heart. It is relaxing and deeply restorative. 5 to 10 min of resting like and you will feel like a brand new person.


I recommend these stretches in the am. I even do them in bed sometimes before I get up! Wherever and however you do them does not matter. What matters is that the body is taken care of, it is the only one we get! (until we can use 3d printers for organs, etc :) My yoga teacher would tell the story of her sister who is a chiropractor, who said that if everyone did cat/cow she would be out of a job! Now, I don’t know if that is true or not but I am all about increased flexibility and mobility!


Let me know what you think! 

As always, the best discussions happen in the comments! Until next time…


Namaste,
Miss Jessica

Sort:  

Hey this is great @missjessica! I love how you describe the poses and how to best move through them. Child's pose is my all-time favorite... that probably says something about me, but I love how it relaxes and stretches my spine :) I hope you post more like this. Maybe do a "pose-of-the-day"? I'd totally be a part of that and submit my attempts!

Childs pose is the best! Thanks for the great insight!! I bet with all your travels yoga helps. Looking forward to your next post!

I really hope people see how successful this stuff is and do educational videos of there own, thats the steemit gold right there.

Nice post

I always thought when people said Cat Cow that they said Cat Crawl; what an idiot.

I've been to a couple of yoga classes, with the intention of improving my flexibility. I swim competitively, but have always struggled with any hamstring flexibility, I mean I am literally just passed my knee when I try to touch my toes, and the yoga classes were so difficult because of that! Do you know any stretches that might improve the flexibility of that part of the body? I'd be super grateful!

You bet! What can help the hamstrings are two things that are not even stretching! Take a golf ball under the foot and roll it around on each sole for a few min each. The facia I spoke of can get 'stuck' in the feet and when rolled out can improve flexibility in a forward fold. Do a before and after stretch to compare. Also, take a lacrosse ball (tennis or even the golf ball can do) and take a seat moving the ball in small circular motions around the hamstring and the glute. Next would be just keep stretching. It needs to be done every day especially if you are competitively active. Keep folding @stevo, keep folding :) I hope this helps, let me know if you try it! And don't feel silly with the cat/cow.....I don't know why it's call the cow.. makes no sense :)

Thanks @missjessica ! I'll give them a try and tell you how it goes :)

Nice. Glad to see yoga getting some love around here. Keep it up!

Thanks for verifying and welcome aboard!

I've thought of picking up yoga, maybe I'm not too late yet. :)

Hey @acidyo ! It's never to late to start yoga! Get that body moving. Out of these 5 moves, Cat/Cow will give you the most benefit in my opinion! Best of luck!

Thank you. I'll make sure to follow you so your posts will remind me to start. :D

Yoga pants are amazing :O

LMAO! I guess it's a weakness for all guys.

Everybody who practices yoga , should at least come to Bali once for the next Bali Spirit Festival . Awesome Music & Yoga to the max ! http://www.balispiritfestival.com/ Enjoyed your post and say thanks to @engineercampus who showed me your link
The photo is from Mentigi Bay , a villa in Lombok I rent . Hope you like that sunset spot :) and pose

How beautiful! Bali is definitely on my wish list! & I have wheats of the Spirit Fest- that's awesome that you go, maybe we can be the firsts term it yogis to join up :) thanks for your support!

your yoga pants are sexy :D

Skorpion Pose

Tried the 'Cow Twist'...Now stuck in a Human Pretzel :(


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44