Wrist Conditioning for Yogis

in #yoga6 years ago

During yoga we spend a lot of time weight-bearing on our hands. A traditional yoga practice doesn't offer much to build strength the wrists and the supporting muscles of our forearms, and our wrists are vulnerable to injury.

By incorporating these quick wrist conditioning exercises into your yoga practice you can strengthen and protect your wrists and give your practice longevity. Super helpful for anyone practicing vinyasa or ashtanga yoga, or working a lot on arm balances and handstands!

Do you have other favourite wrist-strengthening drills? If so, please share them in the comments; I'd love to know about them.

Sort:  

I absolutely love this!
Anyways, I am not into yoga world. I train aikido for 10yrs (and counting) and we have a lot of pressures points and locks on joints meaning the wrists must be flexible and strong. But I went to yoga class and realized how inflexible my body is (to some movements).
So, my wrist joints are kind of strong and flexible, but only inwards since all the techniques involving pushing it that way. Do you know any exercises for outwards flexibility - guess the one with circling would do some job(2nd and 3rd exercise). Also shoulder exercises would be nice in future too!

Anyways thanks for sharing this ;)
Cheers!

These are such a great exercises! I was facing inflammations inside of my right wrist which caused me so much pain and I feel it is kind of coming back.

I will try to do these exercises to strengthen them and it will hopefully help me long term :)

Thank you for sharing! And @svemirac, thank you for resteeming :)

Congratulations @marita.dortins! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Good work. Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97