Cat pose

in #yoga6 years ago


Welcome everybody! I’m Pūciņa, your fluffy yoga instructor and today we are going to learn two very important poses marjaryasana (sounds Martian to me, I like it) and bitilasana also known as cat and cow poses. Personally I exercise both of these every day, several times a day and can recommend the same for you. I also do a lot of adho mukha svanasana or downward-facing dog, but don’t tell them that, please.  

Get on your fours and let’s begin! It doesn’t matter with which pose we start. I prefer the cow one first and then the cat one. To avoid injuries, remember to position yourself correctly. Especially you, two legged creatures - knees under the hips and hands under the shoulders.



Have you ever seen a cow in real life? Me neither, but it doesn't matter. They basically look like a brick with horns just bigger (so I am told). That will be your starting position. Back flat in one line. However, cows have big bellies and I bet they are also heavy. So imagine your belly is a bit heavy as you inhale and it is being pulled down towards the ground while creating deep, inward arch in your back. You can even look at the sky for a moment and say mooo before you exhale and return to the starting position.



Let’s move on to the cat pose. It’s all about that six pack or whatever you humans have! No. Not really. Or maybe? It is just your core muscles and guts moved and pressed towards the spine. Imagine you are trying to reflect a ball with your back. On exhale round it up nicely. Then return to the starting position same as in the cow pose as you inhale.



All of you sitting around and staring in your boxes for the most of your awake time, should cow and cat from time to time. It doesn’t take a lot of time and your back will thank you. Not just the back. These exercises also improve circulation in your body, calms your nervous system and strengthen your back, core, arms and shoulders which in general improve your entire posture.


That’s it for meow! Take care and hydrate ^^

Song of the day: ZHU - Waters of Monaco

Sources: Cat pose; cow pose; cat, cow flow
Disclaimer: I’m no yoga expert, do your own research before trying this at home

Sort:  

This made me miss my cat back home :( that's a really cute one though even though he/she looks kinda angry :D

Aww, I know the feels! :( Sorry about that.

Yea she is a cutie and I guess the sun in her eyes made her look angrier than she actually is, hehe

Thank you for stopping by Straw, appreciate it :)

I need to start doing more stretches at work and while I'm on Steemit. Spend too much time sitting behind a computer :/

Absolutely! Even short breaks and moving around for a moment helps a lot.

Aaaahhh, Pūciņa is the most adorablest!

I'm guilty as charged! I sit in front of this box of mine way too much... But I can't help it! It has All The Thingz! ... My reading, my writing, my art, my social life... It's the portal to all these.

What can I do to get off the box more, oh Wise Pūciņa?

(Ooh, yay, at the end of the ZHU song, Nightcall by Kavinsky was next in queue ^^)

(Edit: And now a song I've never heard is playing and I love it. Going to add the band to my Spotify now. "The Trip" by Still Corners)

Hehe! Yea, she is! ^^ Giving all the cuddles I can give to her lately, you know..

We are all guilty about it and if you think about it how much time we spend with our boxes, it is a bit crazy. Can't wait for chip implants lol! Maybe then we will also move around more? For now we are tied to our desks and chairs and sometimes walk into poles while staring in the tiny phone screens xD

Pūciņa wanted to let you know that maybe you should start some sort of hobby you could share here, but that requires spending time outside in order for it to happen.

Ah thank you for sharing some songs. Loved the vibe of The Trip. I am constantly craving new music! Input! More input! Johnny 5 voice, Short Circuit

Johnny 5! <3

Out... side... O.O ...
;P
Actually, you know I love the outdoors, but it's different when living in a city. Especially this one. Plus I'm a bit swamped right now with projects. Will have to try being creative and think of something perhaps to start next year.

@m31 great exercise and the model is very cute)

thank you for supporting my post!

Thank you for stopping by @veta-less :)

You are very welcome. Love your works and keep them coming! ^^

cat is Intimidation ..hahaha

Thank you for vote my article the other day!!
i write steemit about spice, so if you interested it ,please keep to look at^^

I think she is so much better at this than me, haha! :)

You are very welcome and keep up the good work ^^

Everyone should learn a thing or two from Pucina...lol

Absolutely, hehe! She's pretty clever about these things.

your cat looks so cute :)

Thank you :) Winter fluffs, it is getting cold fast here.

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.251 which ranks you at #767 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 407 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

can she do downward dog? :) so cute

Just a great post one I appreciate your post my dear friend so I am proud you cause your every content just good and helpful for us ..so carry on your activities..

I will wait for next post and go ahead..
Best of luck .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85