Wall Yoga for Steemians!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

Hey Steemians!

I know all too well the toll that writing those stellar Steemit posts, hunched over your laptop on the couch, can have on your body. Give your body some much needed love with these quick & easy wall poses - they work great for anyone who has lower back pain too!

Wall Yoga.png

Focus on the breath, long inhales & exhales. Play some relaxing music, light a candle, and turn down the lights. Time to treat yo' self!

Standing Shoulder Opener

Start with both hands on the wall - slowly start to open your chest to the left, turning feet parallel to the wall, keeping the right arm planted on the wall bent at the elbow. You can push your left hand into the wall, continuing to spin your chest open towards the same direction as your feet. You should feel an awesome stretch in the right shoulder - don't push it though, try to ease into it. Repeat on the opposite side. Snapseed (3).jpg

Snapseed (4).jpg
opposite side

Legs Up the Wall

This one is pretty self-explanatory. I like to open my arms out to side for a little chest opener. My dog Sookie uses this as an opportunity to plant some smooches.
Snapseed.png

Pigeon - Wall Version

I love me a good pigeon pose, but this wall version gives my hips & hammies a deeper stretch. Starting in the pose above, cross your left foot right above your right knee - your legs should make the figure 4 shape. Start to slowly slide the right leg down the wall until you feel a good stretch - it doesn't take long! Hold for a few minutes on each side.

Snapseed (1).png

Snapseed (2).png

Cobbler's Pose - Wall Version

Starting with both legs back up the wall, bring both soles of the feet together, forming a diamond shape with your legs. I love, love, love this one for my lower back pain - it lengthens the spine relieving any lower back tension. You can also gently press the thighs away from you, towards the wall for an extra hip stretch.

Snapseed (3).png

I hope these stretches help to get you movin' & groovin' to write that next great post without all the back pain :)

I'm always looking for ideas & inspiration from my fellow steemians - let me know what kind of yoga you need!

Lindsey, Yogi + Foodie

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, I think i will try this routine as soon as I wake up tomorrow morning!

Awesome! I need to do this every morning haha

@lindseylambz
Thanks for giving us some insights on yoga! Sookie is so cool!

I'm sure she is! :)

Awsome wall yoga poses , very useful for keeping you supple thanks for posting this info I also upvoted you .

Nice adaptation. I promoted your post over on Steemtrail's YogaTrail.

These are very nice stretches, the wall is a great friend of mine, just like the floor :)
The shoulder and chest opener you showed is really nice and you can get pretty deep in it too, it feels amazing!
The butt to wall poses are super nice to hold for long periods, yin style, like Lindsey says with some nice candle light and soothing music in the background. Deepen the breath and go inside, allowing the body to relax further and stretch deeper.

Thanks @erikdenoorman! I love yin yoga - makes me feel so relaxed! Nice to see another yoga enthusiast on here - I gave you a follow! :)

Thank you so much @lindseylambz!
Yoga is a great way of life to dedicate yourself to as it allows everything in your life the possibility to become so much meaningful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48