What's Yoga Trying to Tell Me?

in #yoga8 years ago (edited)

Went to a yoga class yesterday. It was interesting. I mean, I've been to yoga before, but every class is a little different. In this class, I discovered that while my right side holds tension and pain, my left side is quite weak and unbalanced. 

I feel like there's a life lesson in this somewhere about pain coming from guarding/protecting/over-compensating for your weaknesses. But I'm not feeling the click of an ah-ha over that yet. Like there's still a piece missing.

Any thoughts about what my body is trying to tell me?

Sort:  

Thanks @leta-blake for keeping the yoga material coming! Glad to have others interested in the health of their mind and body onboard. Yoga keeps my spine from curving and my heart from gaining unnecessary weight. That pain and tightness is inflammation responding to overuse or abuse, so yes, it is protecting other muscles from the stress by bearing the brunt.

I have been trying to keep the notion of Name That Yoga Pose that I saw @sean-king alive. I like the idea of a Scavenger Hunt as well. Do you have any photographs of yourself practicing yoga in a different environment? Ever attempted a flow atop a SUP? It is amazing!

Truly,
H

I am brand new to a yoga practice, so I haven't got any pictures of myself doing yoga yet. When I can do something fancy, I'll see about having a picture made. LOL! So far, so good, though. Am enjoying! :D

its telling, hey please do more yoga to balance me :)
Wish you all the good and don't forget to have some fun while doing yoga!

Elementary and true. :)

I'm getting into meditation and I feel like getting into yoga real soon. Interesting post, thanks :)

I think you'll find they feed each other. :)

be careful, true yoga brings you out of the prison, which could change your life a ¨little¨ bit :)
have fun and enjoy!

From my experience from yoga you grow stronger and more supple when its a regular thing. For me the best bits are relaxation at the end, when your body and mind let go .

I am a beginner, so I don't have a lot of experience to go by, but I find I'm enjoying the bit in the middle where I sort of forget to pay attention to anything except what I'm doing.

funny yoga facts: yoga is a way of living that is meant to be practiced the hole day. mostly in the west only hatha (yoga for the body) is known. interestingly the yoga which is most know in west comes from an former military commander which put in all the war postures :) now we westerners think oh thats yoga. but its more like military training :) But yea letting go in the end is a nice feeling ;)

yoga does for the body what steemit does for the mind : )

lol, yoga empties the mind and brings one into the body, steemit files the mind and brings one into the head :)

Addict it? :D

That's what I was thinking lol, I'm totally hooked to this.

Becoming aware of weakness and imbalance. Feeling able to acknowledge weakness and imbalance in your body, and the factors in life that may have caused them, and be ok with that. Make the subtle changes and determinations to improve your yoga which in turn gives you strength and balance in other areas of you life, or live with the weakness, seeing it as a natural limit which you do not need to push against too hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35