You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yoga 2.0: Relief for Tech Neck

in #yoga7 years ago

You're making me feel guilty because I know I need to be doing these, and don't.

I guess I'll start tomorrow morning off with a few sets of these. Thanks for putting some of the best stretches in one place!

Sort:  

Hmmm, well...I'm happy to be of service with the stretches, but there's something more to look at if you're willing:

I know that's a common phrase ("you're making me feel guilty") that you may not be giving much consideration to using, and I have no judgment on it nor am I offended, but I'm not making you feel anything. Blame isn't helpful when you want to make lasting change within yourself.

You are activating guilt because you hold some idea of what you are "supposed" to do, and you're falling short of that ideal. In my experience, guilt isn't a very helpful feeling to indulge, and it actually causes a chemical reaction within the body that leads to disease. Plus, it's addictive. It's one of those reactions that's programmed into the subconscious and will just keep on playing out unless you consciously address it.

I'm really glad you're going to give the stretches a shot, and I hope it brings massive relief to your physical body. Of course, yoga is about much more than what's on the surface! I also hope you're open to taking a look at guilt and blame to see if they're serving you, and if not how you might let them go.

Thanks for reading and commenting, @justinchase! I think yoga is really about self-empowerment, and that's what I really aim to illuminate 💛

Ah! I could have saved you some time on your reply - I'm well aware I'm falling short of my ideal when it comes to taking care of my body. I've been travelling lately and am staying 3000 miles from home - it's challenging to take care of myself the way I normally do.

I'm not REALLY feeling guilty. Let me be more precise: I'm inspired by your poses and going to act on my beliefs (taking care of myself!).

I bet you like that version better ;) No more posting late at night for me...

I like self awareness and personal responsibility quite a lot, yes. Hooray for making yourself a priority and taking care of yourself!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70