A recipe for longevity and good old age.

in #yoga7 years ago

Hello again.

In my second post I want to tell You about my reflections on longevity and how to remain full potential up to the and of life.

I would like also to invite You to share your own prescriptions in this field etc.
In comments.

When I was a young boy


I was wondering why life often is so hard. Every man borns, lives often suffering a lot and usually dies as an infirm old man. I have met many old people hunched, sick and often complaining about their fate.


source: https://pixabay.com/pl/os%C3%B3b-starszych-emeryt-lub-rencista-294088/

I think it was reason that I inquired into the meaning of my existence.

Then during my trip to India I met a man who was 81 years old, he was a yoga teacher, manager of big ayurvedic hospital and he still lectured at the University – dr Rao. Then I was 19 years old but his physical and mental condition were at a much higher level than mine.


source: https://pixabay.com/pl/podziwia%C5%82-zaskoczona-wow-ikona-2935401/

Oh my God I though. How it is possible to be in such good shape in spite of age?
He inspired me to start hatha yoga classes and he was my first teacher.

  1. First of all he was practising yoga everyday – up to two hours – ufff
  2. His diet was natural food, vegetarin diet
  3. He also used prophylactic Ayurvedic treatments
  4. He lived actively in society sharing his wisdom and knowledge
  5. And above all, he cared for mental hygiene

Years after


I have met another teacher of yoga in Poland – professor Janusz Szopa – he is 70 years old man now.


source: http://czestochowa.wyborcza.pl/czestochowa/1,150461,19710287,joga-bez-magii-janusz-szopa-wygina-cialo-naukowo.html?disableRedirects=true

During yoga workshops he, as only one, but the oldest one, can stand on hands (Adho Mukha Vrksasana) for 5 min. He is the precursor of academic yoga in Poland. What is the key to his success?

  1. First of all he is practising yoga almost everyday, and does it according to his body
  2. His diet is not vegetarian but he does not overeat
  3. He lives actively in society sharing his wisdom and knowledge
  4. He has a very good approach to life and people

For me These two men are a great example of good old age. Their age is advanced but they are still young.

Generally for many years I try to live according to some rules that I believe are my recipe for longevity:

  1. Care for physical condition without overloading the body (this is practising yoga for me)
  2. Balanced diet – not necessarily vegetarian
  3. Active life developing internal potential
  4. Living in harmony with yourself and others
  5. The ability to relax
  6. The ability to see and enjoy life here and now

You know, it is easy to write these sentences but sometimes it is really difficult to live according to them. I believe that it is worth to work on your life and self – realization to live longer in good health and taking full advantage of the opportunities that life gives us.


this is me :-) during yoga and Mindfulness workshops for IT managers in Cracow.

There are many ways to reach the goal, so I would be happy if You share with me and other steemians your own recipes for longevity and good old age.

Greetings to everyone :-)

Sort:  

My recipe is a fruitarian diet

Thanks for your reply. For how long you are on frutarian diet, so only raw fruit? Where do you live, what country?

95% raw fruits, 5% leafy greens when I feel like having a salad.
I live in Norway, but have been in Asia the last 7 months - it is easier here, but also doable in Norway with a little bit of practice and determination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39