Invoke Yoga - My Journey

in #yoga8 years ago

Hie there, my name is Memory. I am a transport industry fanatic and have studied Logistics and transport as a profession but majored in Aviation studies as thats were my passion lies. I worked as a travel consultant for over 5 years until I decided to try my luck in a neighboring country in search of greener pastures. Unfortunately I was not lucky enough either in getting a job or securing a permit to stay in that country. I still consider this a good lesson. I was confident enough to tell myself that if people without professional competency could make it in the diaspora then my chances as a professional are much higher. Anyway my three month visa expired before I knew it and I had to come back home with no job. Shame kept me from going back to my former employer and it was a difficult experience.

A very "good friend" :-) of mine then told me about a scholarship that was being offered to train as a Yoga instructor. I had stumbled or just in passing came across people or articles that talked about Yoga but never really gave it a thought. So when this opportunity came I wasn't quick to try the application, I only submitted it a few minutes before the deadline just to make my friend leave me the hell alone. He had attended a sessions by the lady who was offering the scholarships and was really amazed and inspired by the power of Yoga and he really failed to understand why I couldn't jump to take such an opportunity. 

Surprisingly, I got accepted for a 200 hour teacher training in Kenya by the Africa Yoga Project. This opportunity saw me going on a plane for the first time in my life, though I had been working in the airline industry for quite a while. It was an amazing experience getting to meet with the Yoga community from different cultures and backgrounds. The whole goal of this training was to come back home and share the beauty of yoga, it's such a wonderful experience and though I have my moments I am happy I discovered Yoga, I know I can always count on it whenever I need it.

I am so exited to join Steemit and hope to meet and share with yogis, logistians and the whole Steemit family

Namaste :-

Sort:  

Looks like Yoga was your calling. Great article. Welcome to Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56