Bad Back, Cold AF but we got Sunshine, Coffee & Yoga- Don't Count Us Out Yet!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of steemit covers (3).png

Talk to me Sunday Steemians! How are you feeling today? Any aches and pains? How did you sleep? Anything good for breakfast?

A Sunny-Morning-Sunday-Salutations to you my Blockchain-Brethren! The clock’s hands are coming ‘round to 12 so I better not mince words, or else this will turn into an afternoon post, and I’ll have to delete that clever line.

Fitbit says I got nearly 8 hours of sleep, which is more that I can say for the past few nights. The sun is shining, (which has a huge effect on my mood and focus levels) and even though I woke up with that damn pinched nerve in my back again, just as it was starting to feel great, I got up relatively early, bundled up to my nose and did a bit of outdoor Yin yoga in the sun.

click here to be wisked away to the yoga class I did this morning- if you try it out, I'd LOVE to know what you think!

It was COLD. I’m not going to lie- definitely freezing temperatures and windy BUT the sun was OH SO NICE! - I found myself a little dry sunny patch outside the van and settled in for an hour long practice.

VSCO Cam-1-2.jpg

If you’re not familiar, Yin yoga targets the deep stiff connective tissues that lie beneath the muscles, this is where real flexibility and balance comes from, and when I finish a Yin practice I feel like a new person.

The poses are held for quite a long time, about 2-5 minutes, so if you’re used to flow or Vinyasa yoga (which is likely what’s taught at your local studio or gym) it can be as much of a mental challenge as it is a physical. For me, it’s an excellent opportunity to breathe deep, meditate and practice mindfulness.

VSCO Cam-4 copy.jpg

Bringing your mindset back to the moment, when your brain tries to talk to you about all the things you have to do in the day, or that thing that person said to you yesterday, or what your morning Steemit post will be about is tough, but it’s in the “bringing back” that that mental muscle really gets flexed and you come out the other side feeling mega focused and grounded.

Which is important if you’re wobbly-wobbly-flowy-Pisces like me. ;)

VSCO Cam-3.jpg

@Teamhumble expressed interest in hopping on a bus tomorrow and going for a swim (after we fetch him some shorts) which I know will do WONDERS for my back and aching muscles if we can pull it off. Fingers crossed we can find him a suit!

Being in town tomorrow and all day Wednesday for V-or Valentines day means today is going to have to be a hustle mode day. As it stands right now, the odds are in my favor, I’ve got the heat pack melting my back in the best way, I’ve finished my green tea (heading into coffee land soon) and I’ve even made breakfast for us already!

If you follow @teamhumble you’ll know he’s usually the one to take care of breakky while my tired brain eases into this reality. It felt really nice to get behind the pan and make our eggs up after I got back inside from yoga.

(Oh! And we’ve got the Olympics on in the background - perfect background for a work day)

Ok pals that’s it for me. Lots of things to do today on my computer. If you haven’t already, join us in our Discord channel and say hello!


morning-coffee.pngless-clients
wellness.pnggreycheck.pngdye-hair.png
update-heydayle.pngtee-shirts.png
birthday.pngvalentines.png
hygge.pngpeak-district.png
60-rep.pngfollowers.png
altcoins.pngsushi-rice.png
Sort:  

Nice thing going there @dayleeo. Now you got me interested to look up Yin yoga. Better get started in looking for videos. I always have stiff muscles and even frozen shoulders.

I think you'll love it, but it may be a challenge if you have trouble sitting still like me, I'm such a fidgeter, just focus on long deep breathing and you'll be fine- https://www.doyogawithme.com/yoga-classes is a great place to start :)

Thanks for the link @dayleeo. I really appreciate it 😀

of course! Ive taken hundreds of the classes on there so if you ever need a recommendation let me know and I'm happy to help!

Nothing better than outside yoga... looks freezing though!

I actually had to pick up and move to a new patch once I lost the sunlight because I couldn't stand it! Luckily I was wearing dark colors so I was really able to absorb the sun and warm up!- Without it I would have been an ice block!

I would have to say this is the style of yoga that would benefit me the most. whoohoo

it so helps me!!! also an awesome way to get your daily meditation in at the same time- I always keep a few YIN classes on my phone so I can do it whenever (and wherever) I get the chance :)

No real aches and pains but generally quite a grumpy day for me. I've spend much of the weekend working after an already long hard week and was back at it by 7. Had to leave my daughters behind today as I'm sat at the Airport waiting for my flight to work; back Wednesday.

On top of that, thanks to Virgin I have no broadband which makes working from home interesting.

Anyway, I'm interested to hear about Yoga. I've never tried it but it has been suggested I give it a go. I suffer with back problems (lowers spine) and chronic sciatica. Is it something you can give a go with some YouTube videos or should you really go to a proper class.

Pleased you mentioned mindfulness. I've used Headspace in the past and have just downloaded the app to my phone. I think I'll give it another go over the next few days to help me chill out a little.

That's great to hear that youre interested! I have something very similar to sciatica and thankfully all the same stretches help me out so yoga has been an absolute LIFESAVER. I do all my classes at home via doyogawithme.com this is the link to my initial post about my back pain troubles and one of the classes I did that helped me bunches if you're interested.

I used to love headspace but in the interest of keeping my "monthlys" down I switched to an app called CALM (ios) if you're interested in a free alternative ;)

Thanks for stopping by @stav, if you have any other yoga questions feel free to let me know and I'll answer to the best of my ability :)

Well, it sounds like you are feeling better and that is good. And making breakfast and doing yoga, sounds like a good healthy plan.

I don't know why i always forget to go to @teamhumble but I am going to fix that problem today.

You have a discord channel too? I joined one from an artgroup but I am having trouble posting on it. I should check yours out.

Feel better and enjoy your coffee times.

yes yes, we'd love to have you- its a bit quiet at the moment but we're both making an effort to keep discord open on our machines during the day so we can drop in and say hello- I believe your beau is already a member in fact!

<3 fingers crossed we can get a swim in tomorrow, I feel like that'll help my pain loads

Hot damn chica. Props gettin out there even in the cold and stretching your body and flexin your brain!

thank you! It probably wasnt the smartest to do a slow paced practice in the cold, I didn't get very much body heat going but the sun was SO good I couldn't resist hehe

Sounds like you have a busy week ahead so take the time to relax today. A swim would be great! Loosen things up and relax the mind too!

Thank you for the reminder @cecicastor ! Its always something I heed from other's advice but not my own, is to REST! What's that about, gotta work on that, but first rest! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97