Namaste on Steem.

in #yoga6 years ago (edited)

My Yoga Journey!

The first time I did yoga was with one of my best friends Shae. We giggled while we tried to maintain the posses in the book I got from the Library, only to fall off my bed onto the floor thinking of how silly we must have looked. It's been over 10 years since that day and now my best friend practices as a form of exercise and meditation and I have my 200YTT and I'm an instructor at The Studio in Boulder City, NV.

Screen_Shot_2018_04_04_at_11_18_49_PM

How I got into it

I originally went to School for Baking and Pastry at The Art Institute's Culinary program. $63K later I have an associates degree in a field that I no longer want to be associated with and credits that don't transfer because the location I went to wasn't an accredited university. Lucky for me I only have 32K left. 😣 lol

While going to school I put on a few pounds and decided to do something about it. I started going to 24-hour fitness. I would lift weights and look at the people in the aerobics classroom do Yoga and one day I went in. I was sweating and the next day I was sore. I thought of how amazing I felt and couldn't get enough of it. I started to think of why I was enjoying it and it was because it was my time to step away from all the things that stressed me out. For one hour a day,​ I could have someone tell me what to do while I got to listen to my body and reconnect with my mind.

Screen_Shot_2018_04_04_at_9_50_00_PM

The more I looked into yoga the more I loved it. It was so much more than an exercise and I wanted to experience all of it. Right before I got married I left my last pastry job and went back into retail, doing admin for a pottery studio. My husband would give me a hard time about where I was working. He would always ask me "Are you going to manage this pottery studio forever?" I would always reply with no and tell him I didn't know what to do with my life. I didn't want to pay for more school and I was already in debt from the last passion I had. He told me that because he was already in his profession of choice and that we were stable, now was the time for me to figure it out. He asked me what I spent most my time looking up, What magazines I enjoyed reading and were the things that really helped me enjoy my life. Everything was pointing to Yoga. So I decided to get certified.

Screen_Shot_2018_04_04_at_10_36_00_PM

Where I got certified

I got my 200 hour teacher training at Sadhana Yoga School. They offered an immersion program in Bali, Indonesia. I calculated how much I needed and started a GoFundMe. With the help of my family and friends (mostly my parents...lol) I got enough money for my plane ticket and training.
It was a life-changing experience and even if you don't want to teach yoga, I would 100% recommend this to anyone. I learned so much about myself and wouldn't trade that experience for anything. I met some incredible people that lived on the island as well as fellow students that were on a similar path. Now I have family all over the world and I am so grateful that I have them in my life.

fullsizeoutput_932

I will always try to be a student of this practice. If you have any suggestions for similar blogs or a good book for me to read on Yoga I'd love to read it. Thanks again!

Sort:  

WOW such a beautiful journey! Thats awesome that you took chances on something you love and are thriving in it! I can definitely relate a bit.

Thank you for the kind words! What are your passions that you’re thriving in?

Youre welcome! I've found passion in traveling and making art and connections. I like to connect friends for artistic ventures and support systems, sharing what I know with like minds. Lots of flux but I am passionate about wellness and plant medicines as well. As of now I would say I am thriving in realms of teaching myself programming for art and media and using the internet as a tool, so much to be done though.

AH! That sounds so fun! I hope to one day travel.... I hope it comes very soon. Good luck to you and your adventures. I will be looking forward to reading your posts.

Good story! I think I can handle that lying down pose, I'm not sure about anything else though.

Thank you!

“Yoga it’s not about touching your toes, it is what you learn on your way down” - Jirga Gor

Lol some days I can’t handle much either. I’ll be sore from the gym or to tired and lazy. But it doesn’t mean I can’t do it. There’s no wrong way to Yoga you just have to try.

exelente eso del yoga muy espiritual
;)

Amo el lado espiritual del Yoga, pero la mayoría lo hace por la forma física. ¿Practicas yoga?

La verdad no practico yoga, pero si m tomo mi tiempo para meditar, relajar mi mente.
realmente si me gustaría hacerlo, lastima que el tiempo no me alcanza ;)

Si es importante para ti, tendrás tiempo para eso. Algunas personas se saltearán el gimnasio, algunas personas se saltearán el salir con sus amigos, algunas harán que todo funcione. Depende de usted cómo administrar su tiempo.

I tried yoga for the first time a little over a week ago...and was amazed at how fucking challenging it can be. I couldn’t believe my Dad and Stepmom did that for years. And, I felt kinda bad that I’d been pushing my wife to use the yoga mat I’d bought her, without thinking of how much of a workout it can be!

Yea there are so many different types of yoga and a few of them are very challenging​. You got to pick the right one for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28