You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I (Finally) Achieved a Daily Yoga Practice

in #yoga6 years ago

I've been going for a year, too, but a year as in 365 days. 🙂 I committed myself to practicing daily around this time last year because my Kundalini yoga teacher training was coming up. In Kundalini yoga, daily practice is a major, major deal. In Kundalini yoga we have an understanding that doing a specific meditation or kriya for a set amount of days does certain things.

40 days: Change a habit.
90 days: Confirm the habit.
120 days: You are the new habit.
1,000 days: Mastery of the new habit.

This is a really big part of what we do. I think what has really kept me going for a year is dedicating myself to prosperity meditation. It's only three minutes long. I made a dtube video about it

I recently found out about the Japanese practice of Kaizen, which means when you want to change something in your life, you start doing it for ONE minute every single day. And the reason for this is that everyone can always do something for one minute a day, and this creates a habit. And habits are very, very powerful to humans.

So I sort of owe my daily practice to a three minute meditation. Three minutes is so do-able. But also, if you have committed yourself to a specific practice, and you're 15 or 25 days into a 40 day commitment, ain't no way you're gonna throw it away by not practicing one day, because you have to start all over again back at one the next day.

Sort:  

Wow! Congratulations on a full year. That is impressive.

I like that breakdown of days in relation to habit. It gives me incentive to double down for 90 days.

Kaizen sounds interesting. I am going to investigate.

Thanks for reading and fabulous comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29