Younger Than Yesteryear: ... Alien Antenna Head Bands ARE COOL!

in #yesteryear6 years ago

This was taken in the 1980's in My Aunt Irene's living room in England. I was around 10 years old. This is my cousin dog Lady, my best friend for many years. Mischa a much smaller dog had to stand in for her. I'm sure you can tell by her photo that she was having SO much fun participating!

I didn't have a radiator so I had to make one up, and had to substitute the sheepskin rug for a seal skin version and I don't have bangs so I had to fold my hair over. I also couldn't find my original alien antenna headband so I had to make one. Fortunately I had all the stuff because you just never know when you'll need a pipe cleaner or sparkly pompom.

This was fun! Thank you @mountainjewel for the reminder to have fun in life and laugh at ourselves sometimes. I think we managed to capture that we can rock being dorky! Thanks @xwalkran for taking the photo and allowing me to destroy the living room (even more than usual) to take this photo.

img048.jpg

IMG_1829.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

OMG, this is hilarious! Now I have to go look for @mountainjewel's post on this and play too. Love the awesome re-creation you did with the living room and everything and that headband!! Giggling at Mischa's enthusiasm :-)))

I hope you enter! Mischa just cracks me up. Every time I look at her expression I giggle some more.

this is so fantastic on many levels @walkerland. awesome job!! thank you so much for participating :) <3 love that you recreated so many elements here, including the alien headband!! the radiator and the "mess" are nice added touches, too, and I love that you shared such a memorable storyline.

and that dog looks to be having such a good time posing in the first pic ;p lol

@walkerland. That is so awesome. You did so much in recreating those materials and moments. Truly, in this fast-paced world, wouldnt it be nice if we sit back every now and then and try to save some precious moments? Its almost a rat-race. 24 hours Its barely enough. But when we remember how far we have gone in life, we are really inspired to NEVER SAY NEVER to all we can accomplish. Nice job @Walkerland and great thought for contest @mountainjewel

I really enjoyed relaxing and having a bit of silly fun! I loved your entry as well.

Thanks for beating me in the contest according to me. You paid attention to detail. Lets see how it goes in the next one

@mountainjewel I was not at all comfortable -- I hate being in front of the camera so this was a great challenge for me. I've been working hard the past 12 months to overcome many different things so for that alone this contest was worth it for me. I hope my entering motivates others to give it a try!

i think you execute it brilliantly!! your facial expression is very close to the one of your younger self- that's hard to do. so glad to hear of your overcoming! <3 and thank you so much for doing it. i can see it already is motivating others!!

snort. That part wasn't hard at all. That's my pensive I hate the camera in my face, face. I've been honing it for 30 years.

I love both pictures. Wow, since how little you were in the first picture. How time flies! And see the amazing woman you've grown into the second picture.

Awesome. Thanks for helping us relive some of those moments.

It was a fun contest! I hope you enter it too. There's still time!!

That is awesome!!!!!! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51