You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where were you when the ball dropped? (Any year)

in #wwyw8 years ago

As a kid, my favorite time of the year is during Christmas season because I love the decorations, the music, the lightings, the food, the cold weather, the entertainment, the nine consecutive midnight mass which is very important for us Filipinos wherein I enjoyed most of the time as I grew up and the family gatherings on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve right after the mass where we had our "Noche buena" ( festive eating). That was from the 1960's to the early 80's. After school I started working away from home, away from my family and friends. My kind of work is something I can't enjoy christmas holidays although I wanted to and I have spent half of my life in this situation. Tomorrow is New Year's Eve and I will be working as usual like on Christmas day. I know I am not alone in this situation, there are others too. I just have to think that I come here for work so as not to be emotional. Happy New Year!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! That's interesting that you go to nine consecutive midnight masses in the Philippines. I didn't know that.

Working on major holidays generally isn't much fun. Hang in there, and Happy New Year!

Welcome. It's our tradition that I have missed for decades. Enjoy your holidays and Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65