You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where were you when the ball dropped? (Any year)

in #wwyw8 years ago (edited)

1996

I was in the 6th grade. My cousin was dressed in his generic-looking gray Chicago Bulls sweatsuit our grandma had gotten all of the boys that year. We were just waiting for the clock to strike 12.

Once midnight hit, we all (cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents, moms and dads) ran out to our house's wrap around porch with pans and spoons to clang and clash on, and firecrackers. I remember yelling at the top of my lungs:

Nineteen! Ninety! Siiiiiiiiiix!!!!!

I am pretty sure my dad was lighting firecrackers on the ground away from the porch.

I think I remember feeling both excited and sad. Excited for New Year's, but also feeling the onset of adolescence and all the weird feelings that come with that in modern life!

Sort:  

That's great! I can remembering shouting out the new year with such enthusiasm as well. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64