You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where were you when the ball dropped? (Any year)

in #wwyw8 years ago (edited)

2003 I was in a tea house in Isfahan, Iran.
They don't even use the gregorian calendar there so no one was even aware it was new year for me :) I got up and shook hands with everyone. Fond memories :)

Sort:  

That's interesting. Thanks for sharing. Do you know if they have any kind of New Year tradition in Iran, possibly on a different date? What calendar system is used in Isfahan?

Nowruz is the Iranian new year. I wasn't there for that but I am sure there are huge celebrations. I am going to blog about my past travels in the coming months and I'll write a bit about different new year celebrations from around the world. I'll be eating grapes this new year. A Spanish tradition.

I look forward to reading about them. I'll look into Nowruz. This is the first I've heard of it. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64