Where were you when you got married?

in #wwyw7 years ago

I got married in Japan at midnight on my birthday.


wedding-322034_1280

There were three of us there, me, my wife, and the security guard who was working at the city hall information desk.

While many people in Japan have large wedding parties, the actual act of getting married here is rather unceremonious. It simply involves the submission of paperwork.

On a slightly cool spring night, just cool enough to send a slight chill through our clothes, my wife and I stood in the city hall parking lot next to the car we borrowed from her parents. We were early, so we talked about how we would walk into the city hall and submit the paper work. It was very important to my wife that we walk through the doors together and submit the paperwork at exactly 12:00 a.m.

At 11:58 p.m. we walked over to the back door of the city hall and, because of my mistake, we entered early. The security guard who was sitting behind the glass window of the information desk looked up at us. It was slightly awkward. My wife spoke to him and explained that we were there to submit our marriage paperwork. There was still one minute left before midnight, so we waited across the metal countertop from the security guard. He looked at us and waited while we looked from my wife’s watch to each other and back again.

At exactly midnight, my wife put the wedding paperwork on the countertop. The security guard ran is finger over the papers checking them make sure that they were all there and to see if we had filled them out correctly. When he seemed satisfied that all the paperwork had been done correctly, he looked at us and said, Okay. I’ll submit these. Congratulations!

And that was that.



Where were you when you got married? If you’re not married, where were you when someone close to you got married? What kind of ceremony or custom was there? Please share your stories in the comments below. The Steem from this post will be shared with those of you who make quality comments within the initial twenty-four hour voting period.


Image Credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

My wife and I got married in the grotto of our favorite park in the small town we grew up in. It was small and intimate and the wildlife was so beautiful that day. I'll never forget the way she looked when I saw her all dressed in white coming down the path toward me. She is what made that day so beautiful.

That sounds really nice! Thanks for sharing!

Awesome congrats

This was a few years ago, but thanks!

Rituals are important in a partnership.

Yep. They definitely are. And sometimes they can create a lot of trouble too. Are there any interesting marriage procedures or rituals where you live?

where was I? definitely beside my wife-to-be. :) p.s. you are really a good writer!

I wonder if there is any place where you don't have to be next to your partner when you're getting married. Actually, it might not be necessary in Japan. I'll look into that.

Thanks for the writing compliment!

okay then. a good writer, with humor.

Judging by manga/anime it is not. You just need the signature on the paper.

In the sixth novel, she registers their marriage without asking Jin, making them officially husband and wife; her new name is Misaki Mitaka (三鷹 美咲 Mitaka Misaki?).

I don't know any "standard" ritual here (except the church one).

You don't need to submit the paperwork together. One person can do it and, as long as the paperwork has been done correctly, you will be married. That's funny, isn't it? I never even considered that to be possible.

thank you for the steems! I did not expect that as I was just trying to say something funny. let me pay it forward.

That's part of my wwyw posts. I split the rewards with the commenters. It's not much, but it's something. If you can pay it forward, that'd be great!

Yo quisiera saber donde estaba yo mientras tu te casabas

Eso sería interesante para entenderlo.

Thank you all for your comments. I will distribute the Steem from this post in a couple days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54