You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Discovered Where He Was!!! Never Before Seen WWII Battlefield Photos

in #wwii6 years ago

Nice, you are like a real detective relocating these places!
Nice photos @balticbadger! War makes me really sad, but I do enjoy military history, or the less recent the more I enjoy it...

Cheers!

/FF

Sort:  

Thanks a lot! I agree I used to enjoy studying the American Civil War as a youngster. But once I learned the true brutality of the government and how it could have been avoided I was saddened so I kind of left it behind me. More recently I have been enjoying the sagas of the Icelanders and learning about their history. Really brutal but fascinating. I was never much interested in WWII, but recently in my life, it has been hard to avoid the subject so I have been drawn to it. It's hard because we want to remember the people, their honor and sacrifice; however, when you begin to learn the true history and not the propaganda learned in school, it's really depressing. As a former soldier myself, I can say that the politics don't matter on the ground but as a citizen of the earth when you look back in retrospect and see the tragedies it's disheartening, to say the least. Well, I hope one-day humanity can learn from its past mistakes but that certainly is not today. Thanks for stopping by!

I hope there will be less and less war in world, I hope peoples mindset can change for the better, I guess when psychopaths are in power, war will just be business as usual... We need empathic leaders and more enlightened people, but I put my hope in the kids, the future generation...

Cheers!

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61