Time lapse of the first month of the German invasion of the Soviet Union

in #ww26 years ago

I can safely consider myself an avid history buff. One of my favorite topics is history of the second world war; a passion that has translated to video production. I wanted to combine this with my other passion for map-making and cartography, however I noticed that many youtube videos did not have the needed accuracy to depict front-line changes during world war two. In this category, there is a well-known video by Emperortigerstar, which depicts the entirety of the war in map form. Whilst the video is commendable for its effort and general accuracy, it ignored critical engagements particularly in the Eastern Front of the war. I decided to fix this issue by creating my own video depicting front-line changes in the Eastern Front for the first month of Operation Barbarossa.

In the video you will find additional encirclement's that are often ignored in other videos, such as Raseiniai, borderland encirclement's, and others within the Mogilev region. I used academic sources such as 'When titans clashed' in order to fill this void. I also attempted to place educational estimates on other locations based on Wikipedia sources. This was particularly the case with the Finnish front-line, since English language sources are severely lacking. I know the time-lapse in itself is fast, as I originally meant for this to be viewed on a pc rather than a phone. The idea of the video was to create a quick pool of information for front-line changes. Please do not assume the map is entirely accurate, but the information is quite accurate in comparison to other video sources. This took me a while to make, and I plan to eventually introduce the second month, in order to portray the encirclement of Smolensk and engagements in Bessarabia. Feel free to comment on what you think and I hope you enjoy!

video link ->

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66027.93
ETH 3529.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16