What I Didn't Post on Facebook.

in #writings7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7868.JPG
(This photo was taken back 2016, Pagudpod)

I remember lying on the beach feeling depressed and lonely.I always portrayed myself as the stress-free girl who had it all together. I remember saying these things "that were going to be okay. I was going to be okay. I could be myself. I was never the girl who was lost, or figuring her shit out. I never allowed myself to be anything less than what I thought I had to be. I didn’t post that — instead I captioned the photo with some dumb line from the show I used to watch because social media always makes us want to make our lives prettier for others and how we would like to be perceived.

Social media is not real life and I think we all know that. But I also know a lot of people who are still deeply affected by what they see, myself included.

I know a lot of people who feel like maybe they are falling behind. I know a lot of people who feel confused and a little lost and a little unaware of who they should be or where they are going. And I know that we all feel that way. I know that we are all just searching for connection, and for understanding in life, but I don’t think we feel inclined to share that. I don’t think we feel like people will care about that, or relate, because on the internet it doesn’t look like they are going through the same things. So sometimes it is nice to be reminded — that we are all human, no matter what the perfected, surface level aspects of our lives on social media look like. We are all just trying to catch our footing, we are all just trying to figure it out. I hope my writing makes you feel that way.

Xoxo,
Frances

Sort:  

Beautiful message:)
Steem On!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

I also feel the same before. Thank you for reminding us that social media should not be our life. God Bless 😊

Right. What we see in social media are "filtered". And should not be affected to what we see.

some people live in their own imaginary "social media world" , they fail to differentiate reality from fiction..thanks for the wake up call

Just be you and the people who matters will accept you for it 💜

nice one han ;)

thanks @fernwehninja was in hiatus for a week or two. but i am soo back! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27