My Lagos diary

in #writings6 years ago

My Lagos Diary 1: I was very sure this evening when I alighted from the bus at Oshodi ísàlè that I was going to encounter something very funny, and my instincts never failed me. Oshodi is popular for its agbero's, touts, and pick pockets in case some of us didn't already know that. As I trudged on with my bag on my back, I stopped for a quick moment at the sight of a woman selling this very ripe robust plantain and I visioned it dancing in my pot of porridge beans. I halted and bought some, unzipped my bag, put it in, then hung my bag back and continued towards the bridge that led to the other side of the road. I was moving very fast so it was impossible for anyone to get too close to me. I had purposely hung my bag on my back, as I would normally carry it in front of me. As I descended the pedestrian bridge and walked towards the market , I noticed quick footsteps behind me, then I heard the zip of my bag open. I turned immediately and the miscreant behind me halted quickly and took few steps backwards. I kept staring at him with stern eyes ...I didn't know wether to scream olé or to beat him down with my zara shoe; that would be too easy I thought . He then asked me why I was staring at him "why you dey look me? You dey crase abi? Something dey worry you for head" Then 2 old men who saw what happened told me to check if the NFA had removed anything from my bag so I can take it back from him before he ran away. I was laughing hard inside me because I expected it to happen and it did. Of course the only important thing in the bag was the ripe robust plantain I just bought, my phone's and my wallet were tucked safely in my pants. I shook my head in pity as I stole a last glance at the pathetic creature that tried to rob me. He had unzipped all the zips on the bag sef before I noticed! I zipped the bag back and continued my journey, this time with my bag in front...before they will thief my precious plantain! Lol... image

Sort:  

Hi...are you from lagos @denji ?

Yes i am from lagos.
Are you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59364.52
ETH 2593.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47