You wouldn't believe what I caught Santa doing. Short story fiction. Writing Prompts Week 3

in #writingprompts5 years ago

This my entry for @themarkymark’s Writing Prompts Week 3

It was the night of December 23th and Grandpa was sitting comfortably in front of the fireplace, reading a book, when his little grandson came in surprise.

"Grandpa, does Santa exist?"

Surprised the grandfather grabbing his chest told his little grandson:

"Dear God! Son! What a fright you've given me!"

"Of course! Santa Claus exists"

"But tell me something. Why have not you fallen asleep?"

The little kid replied:

"I want to see with my own eyes when Santa arrives with the gifts"

The grandfather surprised again by the child's response, quickly thought how to resolve the concerns of his little grandson.

"Come! Sit next to me and let me tell you a little story "

The boy curled up on the side of the sofa and Grandpa wrapped him in the shawl he was wearing.

"You would not believe what I caught Santa doing:

This happened many years ago, I was about your age then. It was Christmas Eve and I lay awake waiting for Santa Claus to arrive. I was determined to wait all night if necessary. However, I leaned back a moment to rest my eyes.

Suddenly the sound of turning on the video game console, my Intellivision, woke me up.

At that time, there was only one television in the house and it was usually in the living room of the house. So I had to leave my console there.

I approached the living room cautiously. And I found a great man dressed in red sitting on the couch in front of the television.

Like you, I gave him a big scare. It was not what I said. At that moment I was speechless, standing at his side, staring at him. Not every day you see your idol face to face.

Imagine the emotion that was inside of me when I saw him, I was speechless.

His white beard and pink cheeks. His big black boots so polished, I could see my reflection in them. He had removed one of his gloves to be able to handle the game controller better.

I just had that same expression you have now. "

The little kid had his eyes wide open with his mouth open.

Grandpa laughed

"And what did he tell you? Grandpa," replied the boy closing his mouth at once.

"He smiled at me and said:

I had to try the new Tron game, my assistants told me that it could possibly be damaged and I have lost track of time

You want to try it with me? I still have 5 minutes

And he offered me one of the game controllers. I was still speechless at that moment.

Suddenly he let out a loud laugh, which took me out of the trance at that moment.

We played for a while and ate the cookies that my mother left on the table next to a glass of milk.

It was when I asked him the question:

How can you be in so many places at the same time?

Easy!, not everywhere is 12 o'clock at night. Right?

I'm going against the clock, surely you know that the planet Earth is round, so the sun rises elsewhere while hidden here, right?

I nodded slowly, trying to understand what he was saying

Maybe here it is after 12 o'clock at night, but in other parts of the world it is not yet midnight, which allows me to be everywhere on time

He winked at me and laughed again. Surely it was because of the surprised expression that I still had on my face.

He got up from the couch and told me

You better go to sleep little friend. These gifts are not going to be delivered by themselves and he pointed to the big red bag on the side of the couch.

Besides, it's about time, he looked towards the ceiling

I could hear the tapping of the reindeers on the roof and the small chimes of his sleigh.

It was a pleasure to meet you in person, you are a good boy. Keep it up

Now do me a favor, close your eyes and count to 5

I did what he said without protest, I was hardly a boy and it was customary at that time to pay attention to adults. So I closed my eyes and counted to 5.

To my surprise when I opened my eyes, it was already morning and I was in my bed.

I was sad thinking that everything had been a dream

My mother called me to come down the stairs and open the gifts with my sister. "

The little grandson already almost asleep, he said

"Were you dreaming all that time grandpa?"

"In a bad mood, I went down to open my gift that morning. Coincidentally, my gift was the new Tron game for my Intellevision.

I immediately started to play it. But my mom stopped me, asking where my other sock was. And she threatened to take the game away if I did not find my sock in the next 10 seconds.

So, I ran everywhere looking for my sock. Finally, before giving up on not finding it, I thought about looking under the sofa. Sure, it could not be there. However, I bent down to look for it below

"Guess what I found? ..."

The santa's glove next to my sock!"

"Great!" Said the little kid before falling asleep.

The grandfather carried his little grandson to his bed and said kissed goodbye.

Then, the old man returned to sit in front of the fireplace and before keep reading his book, he looked everywhere to make sure no one saw him. He took an old glove out of his pocket, already worn with time and pressed it between his hands, drawing a smile on his face.

Thanks for getting here. I hope you have enjoyed this story as much as I have

I know is almost done but if you want to participate in this contest, go to:

https://steemit.com/writingprompts/@themarkymark/writing-prompts-week-1-winner-week-2-wrap-up-week-3-theme




Keep spreading the Steemit love

Thanks for passing by!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jadams2k18 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @jadams2k18

At that moment I was speechless, standing at his side, staring at him

Fun story Jose, but that sound so creepy :) Was he playing on your console ? :)

ps.
I hope you don't mind my little off-topic comment.

Most of all I wanted to thank you for being part of my little quest. Engagement we managed to create within our community was quite impressive. I hope some of those new friendships and connections will last longer.

I finally had a chance to check how many people completed my previous small quests and again reality exceeded my expectations.

I counted already 20 people who joined our little venture. I LOVE IT!

But I've small problem here. Again I didn't anticipate such a support and I don't have enough of SP at the moment to delegate some extra to everyone. Would it be okey if instead of delegating extra 20SP I would extend time of current delegation for another one month? Until end of March 2019?

Let me know if it would be okey.

ps. Im also planning to purchase more STEEM after new year. So if in the future you will struggle with low RC limit then give me a shout and I will see what I can do at that particular moment to help you :)

Cheers
Piotr

Thanks! Buddy!

Would it be okey if instead of delegating extra 20SP I would extend time of current delegation for another one month? Until end of March 2019?

Yeah. You're the man!

Congratulations @jadams2k18! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @jadams2k18, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Ho Ho Ho😃🎅 Thank you so much for support @crypto.piotr initiative Santa Venezuela😊☄Blessings and all the best in this 2019🍀

Posted using Partiko Android

As someone who likes to write stories, i gotta say that i enjoyed this one.

Also, i have to say thank you, your contribution to the ''Santa Venezuela'' Initiative helped me and a bunch of other Venezuelans spend the holidays with food in our tables, spending time with our families and having a good time, that was very generous of you, and i hope that it goes back to you.

Happy new year, and thanks for your support!

Congratulations @jadams2k18! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear @jadams2k18

I just decided to visit your profile and check out your latest content only to notice that you didn't blog in quite a while already.

Hope you didn't give up completely on Steemit?

Cheers, Piotr

Dear @jadams2k18

I hope you don't mind receiving this comment as it may be a little off our usual topic.

I'm not sure if you've noticed your SP lately, but it has recently increased. I managed to receive support and encouragement from a few people who seem to appreciate my work here on Steemit and whoare also interested in seeing our little community grow.

Those 3 guys delegated together almost 4000 SP to a group of around 80 people I support and that includes you! :)

a) majes.tytyty
b) devann
c) boxcarblue

You can check your own delegations using this link:
http://www.steemreports.com/delegation-info/?account=xxxx (xxxx = name of your account)

It obviously took me some time and effort to organize and get them on board. Plus they are using their own resources so ... I can only hope that you will invest some of your own time and effort to show them your support, appreciation/ say thank you etc. And if you enjoy their content then please also try to drop some valuable comment.

After all we need people like them if we want this community to grow stronger. So I hope I can count on you.

In the meantime I'm having a talk with 2 other people and one witness, who may also join my efforts and make some extra delegation :) Fingers crossed :)

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00