Writing Prompt Contest #2 - Steampunk Grocery Shopping

Ok, so this is another Writing Contest that I'm doing. I am going to try to pump 1 out every 1-3 days. I'm going to change the way these are done a bit more because I want all of the participants to earn from their own stories as well as this one and to not be put off by the size limits that I put in place. Prizes will be awarded after the Closing of this Post.

Rules:

  1. Please only original works.
  2. Title must contain "Writing Prompt Contest #2 - Steampunk Grocery Shopping".
  3. Tags must include writingpromptcontest.
  4. Post in a separate post of your own and copy the link in the comments section.
  5. Post a link to this post at the bottom of your entry.
  6. Upvote and resteem after posting your link so that we can get as many entries as possible.
  7. Copy-paste the Writing Prompt segment from this post to the top of your own entry.
    Prize:

If your post has the most upvotes and you have followed the rules outlined above, you will win a prize equal to 50% of the SBD Post earnings after Curation Rewards are taken out.


Dim gas-bulbs swung tenuously from cords attached to the ceiling. The light barely reached the corners of the room, and the radio, tuned to my favorite station, buzzed and crackled from my writing desk. I clinked around the small confines of my cramped apartment, the leather straps over my shoulder digging in deeply. I had to work out the gears in my leg, flexing and releasing as the mechanical leg thumped against the bare wooden planks.

"Ok," I said. "Bracers, check. Gloves, check. Goggles, check. Mask, check. Energy Rifle, check. Grocery Bag, check."

I surveyed the room one last time before I headed out, noting distances and counting objects. So tiring some days to have to do this, but I couldn't trust that some of the Unfailing wouldn't get in and start rummaging through my stuff. Even if they didn't need or even want it, they would still grab it and run. It didn't happen everywhere, but when the only place you can afford is the Bottoms, you deal with it and move on. Counting done, I let the door go. It slammed into place, latching itself. I took out the Stedford and set the Locking Mechanism by sliding the Magnetic Coil up and around the fore-loop. I stopped as soon as I heard the mish-mash of gears and the clicking of the internal lock.

The dim hall was longer than most, but led out to an overhanging balcony suspended from twin metal spires by 6-inch-thick cables. I could see it just at the edge of my vision; and that was saying something, what with the Ocular Magnification that I had added to my Goggles. I could adjust light intake as well as magnification and clarity with simple dial twists.

I made it about halfway down the hall when the lights began to flicker wildly. I flinched and slid to the side. The dancing shadows elongated and swiveled all about me. I drew in a quick intake of breath through the masks breathing tube, calmed somewhat by the low hiss that it made. I stood still and calmed myself, concentrating on the beat of the pulse-heart that rested where my heart normally might have rested, had it not been for a badly-timed run-in with a band of the Unfailing. Every flicker of lights was a sign, and this one was right here with me. I tried not to cower. It brought back so many memories.

"Surrender it," howled the man that swam in my vision. "It is by rights ours anyway. Either hand it over or we will take it." The man's face was physically twisted, so that there were stretch-marks that pulled in awkward directions. His hands held, pointed at my temple, a Flourentine. The scythe-tip of the weapon already brought a trickle of blood.

When I tried to fight, the blade bit deep. I felt the eruption of fluid pain as the sharpened edge cut through my flesh and bone. It hit my shoulder and cracked it. The pressure was like nothing I had ever felt. Then when the metal buried itself in my chest cavity, everything went dark. I never knew who had saved me or worked their magic.

The air warped and twisted around me. The popping sound was all I needed to know they were here. The shimmer at the edge of the balcony and the various shapes swimming out of the darkness just confirmed my suspicions and fears. I gulped and held tight to my things. Perhaps they'll just leave me be, or not even see me.


Great Content deserves Great Rewards.

Sort:  

That one kicked butt. I could see that as a short Indie film.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dbzfan4awhile from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yes, @negativer, you are again the winner. Thanks for a great story, by the way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65