Writing Prompt Contest #1 - Space Flight

Ok, so this is another Writing Contest that I'm doing. I am going to try pump 1 out every 1-3 days. I'm going to change the way these are done a bit more because I want all of the participants to earn from their own stories as well and to not be put off by the size limits that I put in place. Prizes will be awarded after the Closing of this Post.

Rules:

  1. Please only original works.
  2. Title must contain "Writing Prompt Contest #1 - Space Flight".
  3. Tags must include writingpromptcontest.
  4. Post in a separate post of your own and copy the link in the comments section.
  5. Post a link to this post at the bottom of your entry.
  6. Upvote and resteem after posting your link so that we can get as many entries as possible.
  7. Copy-paste the Writing Prompt segment from this post to the top of your own entry.

Prize:

If your post has the most upvotes and you have followed the rules outlined above, you will win a prize equal to 50% of the SBD Post earnings after Curation Rewards are taken out.


The console was bright against the darkness of the void. I was settled back in my seat, biting my lip and flipping through the images in my visor view. There were hundreds of pictures, and each one made my eyes water more. I had been at the edge of the Event Horizon for 16 years now. I had destroyed no less than 600 manned vessels. Every time I met up with an enemy I would hail them on comms and request their business. Each time they answered incorrectly, I would fire a single shot that collapsed their wormhole shields.

"Comm0102-3 to approaching vessel," I said smoothly as the ping of the radar caught the first signs of the vessel on the radar screen. "Comm0102-3 to approaching vessel."

My finger was already on the button, pulling open the clip-cover. It snapped open revealed a red-lit button marked with a green 'X'.

I felt a quick shuddering. My vessel spun and I didn't even realize what was happening. I watched in awe as the ship continued through and sped up to an infinite speed. I saw streaking stars and spinning lights that twisted into one another. I watched flashing and explosions that zipped by in mere instants. I knew what was happening now.

I leveled the ship and stopped the spin against the antigrav energy channels. I slowly pushed the vessel back beyond the Event Horizon. I looked out and saw black all around me. I felt the bone-deep chill of fear slide over me. I saw a single speck of light in the distance, glowing morbid against the blackest of scenes. Terror crept into me like I had never felt before.


Now continue this story. I can't wait to read a bunch of great stories.

Sort:  

Thanks to the one participant! @negativer is the winner by default. Great story and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dbzfan4awhile from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for participating. A solid story to start us out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65