"Sometimes, After the Rain" / Original Poem — Writing Impact ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writingimpact7 years ago (edited)


Sometimes...

Sometimes, after the rain, returning home
the night is like a dark dew-speckled rose
and, somewhere, in between all that velvet
of those petals, we no longer are sure



How we got here or who’ll greet us at the door
which indeterminate shape or tormenting love
will receive us with an embrace or ashen kiss
amid the mist and great potpourri of spirits



Will it be wife, mother, lover or yet another
shadow figure we’ve buried in a dream, or not yet met
—such as the child who played hide and seek too well
long after everyone had moved on, into adulthood?


© Yahia Lababidi

(Images: Pixabay)

Sort:  

Very nice piece.

Thanks, for reading, glad you appreciated it. I hope my words will continue to keep you good company.

Very meaningful words!!

Thanks, for reading, @joetravels - I'm glad you enjoyed it!


شكرا للمشاركة المميزة!
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)

كتابة جميلة :)
أدعوك للمشاركة بمدونة هادفة وشيقة:
the #Happy365steem blog:)!
You can read more about it:
In Arabic
or in English

Happy Steeming!

I Like Your Thought ..

"Long after everyone had moved on, into adulthood?" - Yes, the emotions and spontaneity of childhood fades away gradually as we move into adulthood. Can you image more adults maintaining the emotional energy and sprout of childhood? The world would have been a better place... Powerful words Yahia :) By the way I'm getting to know about different poetry contests through your posts...I'll be participating in them in the future.

Interesting interpretation... Actually, in the context of this poem, I meant the opposite :) I was referring to childhood trauma and our wounded younger selves that we bury within. Thanks, for reading, Nuridin, and good luck with your work.

much obliged to you

Thanks, @mustaphaaoufi (can I ask what you mean by that?)

Awesome work @yahialababidi and I am loving the responses you got on this beautiful piece of work. You did connect with the challenge in the way fo making your readers feel what you write. but you always do.

Bless you, my sister. Reading your writing prompt, many of the words you offered, somehow, felt familiar to me & as Michelangelo says: “I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free."

I’m happy to learn that you found poem impactful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60460.59
ETH 2624.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55