My Favorite Movie | "The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind"

Since we are in a community lockdown our situation forced us to stay inside our house and find a way to entertain ourselves. And since I obviously have a lot of spare time throughout the day the only way for me to be occupied is to watch a bunch movies. I had to sign-up to Netflix since my movie collection is not enough and I don't feel like watching them all over again.

Among the many movies in Netflix, I was particularly moved by the movie "The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind." It made me realized that although we are experiencing a "quarantine", I'm still in a better position than what I thought. I have food, clean water, and still living a comfortable life. I thought that being in a lockdown situation is awful but the movie made me realize that what I'm experiencing is just temporary.

Watching this movie is a remarkable experience for me and it's no doubt the best movie that made an impact to my life at the moment. Here's why...

An eye-opening inspirational movie based on a true story, not to mention the good portrayal of the actors!

image.png

Based on a true story, Chiwetel Ejiofor’s well-intentioned yet flat directing debut follows a teenage boy whose ingenuity protects his village from famine.

In the past few days, I find myself wanting to watch more movies that depict the current situation that we are having due to the Covid-19 pandemic. During this time I feel that watching inspirational movies will give the motivation to do something good for the things that I can control. That is what the movie “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind” has taught me.

image.png

In the movie there are a lot of issues that were brought up; social, financial, political, & environmental issues. At a young age, William Kamkwamba (Maxwell Simba) has shown a lot courage & strength to face the hardship in life brought by the financial status that his family is going through.

image.png

What amazed me about William is that while the rest of the village are preoccupied about their opposition to the government, he dedicated his time and knowledge in uncovering the solution for their greatest adversary - the famine. Eventually, with the help of the rest of the village they manage to overcome the famine and learn that they can withstand the adversity with the resources at hand.

image.png

Lastly, I would like to commend Chiwetel Ejiofor’s delivery of the character Trywell Kamkwamba (William’s father). Ejiofor’s performance is uncanny. I honestly think that he has given enough life to the story that kept the momentum going from start until the end of the movie.

image.png


Official movie trailer:


Image source 1 2 3 4 5

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the 100 Days of Steem Weekly Writing Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

吃了吗?来一份新手村小卖部的美食吧!@teamcn-shop假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

你好鸭,funtraveller!

@cnbuddy给您叫了一份外卖!

虾条

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36