Generated Topic: If you had the power to change one person's life, how would you do it?

in #writing8 years ago


I'm going to be honest with you... Sometimes I feel like writing, but I have no idea what to write about.


That's why I decided to start using a random topic generator to give myself a challenge. The generated topic I received this time is "If you had the power to change one person's life, how would you do it?"

The real question here is "would you do it?"

To be honest, if I knew someone had the power to change their own life for the better, and they simply were not embracing their ability to do so, I would leave them be. I might throw in some hints, or inspiration, but I wouldn't directly change their life for them. I believe is it crucial that people figure out how to change their own lives for themselves, and experience the failures and successes that they brought along. That way, when they find their success, they can be proud of themselves and feel a sense of confidence.

Now, this is a different story when it comes to someone who is either forced into homelessness, disparity, or simply does not have any way possible to dig themselves out of a hole on their own. Don't get me wrong, some homeless people are able to get themselves back onto their own feet, but there are definitely situations where someone didn't do anything wrong, but got the short end of the stick.

Once again, I wouldn't directly change their life, or choose what life they're going to lead. I would simply help them out, or give them the money they need to get started again, and watch from a distance to see how they use the ladder that has been given to them. Some people simply don't know how to climb a ladder, and some people are even scared of the climb, but I would make sure that the person I'm helping seems like they want a chance to climb it.

Before I end this post, I would like to point out something I personally feel is important in one of these situations. It's not always a good thing to take claim to your role in the changing of their life. As in, don't brag about it, or push the fact that it was you who gave them a chance. Such as "you would be nowhere if it wasn't for me." It's okay to feel confident about it, or take pride in it, but sometimes it's better to keep those feelings with you. It's okay to accept gratitude from the person as well, as I'm sure they will be thankful, that is if they even know it's you. Sometimes it's fun to do things for people incognito. ;D

Thanks for reading, and feel free to comment. [:

All images are royalty free from: https://pixabay.com/

Sort:  

For some reason I've tried for several years of my life to change the life of others... Those who I considered needed help or my advice, I felt so sorry for them that I put away all my issues and needs and concentrated on the life of others. Clearly, my intentions were good, BUT what I've found out was that not all the people want the help, the opportunity, the advice, etc. from others. Some of them are perfectly happy with were they are. And from that discover I ceased helping others (at least persistently) and do so only if somebody asks me. Still, when I see that I might be of help to someone - I offer it, but nothing more. It's up to people to either accept or reject it. Some people may be just not ready for changes, it's not their time...
And no one is able to live the life for others, otherwise you stop living your own life. Everybody should take responsibility for their lives. But don't get me wrong: compassion and and mutual help is crucial in wellbeing and safe society.

As this is a great article, I would like to include it in my TOP5 Lucky Find Psychology articles for today! :)

Thank you (:
And, I couldn't agree more with your other reply. It's always nice to lend a helping hand, but I think sometimes people might even take it as an insult if you offer to help. I understand completely what you are saying. I should have included that in my post because it was a great point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51