Original Story #4: I Can't Take it Anymore...I just Wanna Die!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


image.jpeg
Source

"You're ugly!"

"Hey Black Chick"

"You don't belong here"




I woke up feeling dizzy, I tried to move but my hands hurt. I opened my eyes as I tried to adjust from the white light. "Andrea, honey ?" She was crying. Tears were falling from her eyes. "Mom? I'm sorry !". I looked at her, she was just worried as she touched my face. "No honey, I'm so sorry." She sobbed as she continue to hug me.

I can't take it anymore...I just wanna die!

Wanna know why?
I'm Wynona, 15 years old and this is my story. Migrating to Europe for 2 years now has been the most difficult and challenging moment of my life. I was born and raised in a small village in Nigeria. Poor but proud, that's how I was raised by my mom that despite being a single mother she managed to be a good mother to me.

I described myself as a passive, shy girl who is just very simple in every aspect. We decided to moved to Denmark because she was working in the Supermarket there as a cashier. Although I was hesitant at first, my mom encouraged me that we can have a better life ahead of us in Europe.

My first week in Denmark was a major adjustment as it was something new and out of my comfort zone.

The culture was different, it was something new for me. The cold weather was harsh as I got used to a hot, tropical climate of my country.

But you what's the most challenging for me? Probably the people. Fitting in was a major challenge for me and my mom. When I walked around , I became conscious as I see many people looked at me. It's like they are making as indirect statement as to how different I was from them.

I felt so sad, it's quite a burden to feel this kind of pain.Throughout my first year here in my new place, I witnessed all kinds of prejudices just because of my race.

I have been the center of attention, I was picked by other teenagers and they made fun of me because I was different from them. My nationality is different. My skin is black. I can't speak Danish and I don't look like one of them. I was a center of jokes.

I can't help but to cry silently in my room. I tend to bottle up this burden of mine. I don't want my mom to be worried about me. Although it's very difficult for me, I tried to act like everthing's fine. My mom has a lot of problems being a single mother, she's tired from work almost going home late as she does overtime to add to our financial expenses.

School was hell! The only place I thought was going to be fun was much worst than I thought. I was the only black student in the entire junior high school.

Everybody looked at me whenever I went to the food court, to the gym for our swimming class, even in the corridor in school. I'm getting used to it.

Some people conclude that rascism died a long time ago in school but rascism in school is more evident than ever. I experienced prevalent discrimination in a learning environment and it had greatly affected me.

School was the last thing I would go. I was labeled as "the black chick" , "ugly and dirty"and some called me "blackie."

At point I saw some scratched paper with a drawing of a monkey in a tree where my name was written above the monkey.

These events made me really depressed. I had no friends at school, no one to talked to. I don't understand why are they doing this to me. I didn't do anything and I didn't deserved this kind of treatment.

I can't go to school anymore. I just can't, I don't want heard being called unworthy and incapable. I'm done dealing with the prejudice of these people. It was too much for that I decided to drop out.

I decided to stay at home. I don't know what to do. Day by day I became more vulnerable as I experienced negative feelings, a period of sadness and loneliness. I lost interest in doing anything. I was so hopeless that I felt nothing will ever get better. I've lost my interest in things that I usually do.

My mom had noticed the sudden changes in me. Physically I looked so tired, significant weight changes was evident in my body. "Honey, what's your problem? Please tell me." She looked at me in the eyes. I sighed" Nothing mom , I just missed Nigeria." I tried to smile at her. She hugged me tightly as she told me that life would have better if my father was still alive.

I tried to live a normal life but it was getting more difficult for me. I felt that I can't do anything to improve my situation. To the point i harshly criticized myself as I perceived how worthless I am. I can't even concentrate and think.

Until I reached my breaking point.

I was in my bed, I couldn't sleep. I felt anxious and helpless. I was in the verge of ending my life. I don't want to suffer anymore, I've had enough. The emptiness is feeling out my whole body. "I would feel better later." The thoughts in my head.

I stood up and went to the drawer. I remember there was a blade there that my mom had used in cutting one her blouse before. It was sharp as it was used only on a single occasion.

Without any hesitation, I pointed out the sharp blade to my right wrist. I began to sliced it. As I saw blood but I don't feel the pain. The wounds was too deep as the blood began to drop in my bed. I was getting dizzy and everything around me was getting dark. I was sweating and my heart began to beat so fast. Then I experienced a difficulty of breathing then lightheadedness....

I woke up feeling dizzy, I tried to move but my hands hurt. I opened my eyes as I tried to adjust from the white light and I knew I was in the hospital. "Andrea, honey ?" She was crying. Tears were falling from her eyes. "Mom? I'm sorry !". I looked at her, she was just worried as she touched my face. "No honey, I'm so sorry." She sobbed as she continue to hugged me.

"Andreah, I made a decision. We will go back Nigeria as soon as possible." She said as tears began to fall from my eyes.

The end...


This story is a fiction but was inspired by real life cases of racism from all over the world.Something I believed that is very timely and relevant. Any form of discrimination, rascism and bullying is not acceptable. I hope you have learn something from this.
Please don't keep your problems and emotion within yourself.
LETS MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE TO LIVE ❤️



image.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @zam398 your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.57 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59319.27
ETH 2469.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45