You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Evil Eye in Egypt & Around the World

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Haha, of course I am, @talea.monet, I'm Egyptian! The full term is Khamsa wa Khamayesa fee A'ane el Al A'diw (tricky to pronounce/spell out, I'm sorry) and it means Take Five in the Eye of the Enemy. This utterance is usually accompanied by sticking your hand out, palm open, to ward off the evil eye :)

(Here's a bit more info from good 'ole wiki: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamsa)

Thanks, for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it & it's good to hear you speak Arabic :)

Sort:  

Yes! I use this "Khamsa wa Khamis" to ward off evil, I wish I knew how to say the full utterance as you've put here! Shukraan for sharing, I know a bit of arabic but not as much as you 😊

Shukran to you, too, for the heart-warming Arabic :) Tickled to hear it, and may you always be protected _/|_

I'm glad I could make you laugh! This is a great post, I just realized the other tactic you speak of here, downplaying your blessings is something I've been doing a lot lately as well. I actually heard someone speak of something like this, basically saying any big plans you have or something that you're working on that you are really excited about, do not share it with others until it is done. In this way, you are protecting your plans from the doubts and negative thinking of others (or the evil eye of envy!) May you always be protected as well, keep up the wonderful posts, you're teaching many <3

Yes, Life (and others) don't like a show-off :) So, we don't tempt fate by speaking of things before they materialize... Thank you, for kind wishes and encouragement. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38