Meet a Living Heroine of Mine, Karen Armstrong, Ex-Nun & Interfaith Advocate

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

interfaith-voices-composite2.png
elegance.png

Referred to as "a master explainer of comparative religion" writer Karen Armstrong, is needed more than ever, in our divisive and volatile times. An ex-nun who, to her parents' bewilderment, joined a convent at the age of 17, seven years later Armstrong discovered that being a nun was not for her --a gripping story, eloquently narrated in her memoir, The Spiral Staircase--and instead found her calling as an interfaith advocate.

Author of fascinating titles, such as The Battle for God: Fundamentalism in Judaism, Christianity and Islam, Buddha, Faith After 11 September and A Short History of Myth, it is both an education and a pleasure to read her engaging, incisive prose. Moreover, the indefatigable Armstrong is an active and compelling public speaker, participating in conferences and media, making an articulate case why the fault is in us, not our faith--especially, on the subject of Islam, which she has written much about.

A decade ago, at age 63, Armstrong received the US$100,000 TED Prize. She used that occasion to call for the creation of a Charter for Compassion, which was unveiled the following year. You can watch her stirring TED Talk, here:

We are told not to try to meet our heroes, for fear of disappointment, but I could not resist trying. I admit, I've written Ms. Armstrong more than one gushing fan mail over the years, and yet never heard back. You can imagine my excitement when, a couple years ago or so, I saw that she had used three of my aphorisms on her Charter of Compassion webpage!


Charter 1.PNG

Charter2.PNG


Charter3.PNG


Emboldened by this, I reached out to Ms Armstrong, last year, when World Literature Today magazine invited me to be a guest editor for their special issue of Belief in an Age of Intolerance

nov17_cover_440px.jpg

I wondered, might the esteemed Ms Armstrong consider contributing to this important issue, alongside the other luminaries I'd managed to persuade to submit enlightening art, poetry and essays?

I heard back from her assistant who politely thanked me for the invite and conveyed to me that, due to her hectic schedule, Ms. Armstrong regrets she cannot contribute an article. Still, as I did not want to leave her out of this healing interfaith dialogue, which she was already a part of in my mind, I decided to open my introductory essay in the magazine with a long quote by Ms. Armstrong. Read it, below, to savor the power and elegance of her words:

The word mythos comes from the Greek word which means to close the mouth or close the eyes. Mystery and mysticism come from the same root. . . . We approach this kind of knowing in art. . . . You’re being pushed beyond the rational thoughts and distinctions into a silent intuitive space.

Theology is poetry. A poet spends a great deal of time listening to his unconscious, and slowly calling up a poem word by word, phrase by phrase, until something beautiful is brought forth, we hope, into the world that changes people’s perceptions.

Religion is not about accepting twenty impossible propositions before breakfast, but about doing things that change you. It is a moral aesthetic, an ethical alchemy. If you behave in a certain way, you will be transformed.

—Karen Armstrong
elegance.png

(Image of Karen Armstrong)

Sort:  

Real men and women of impact are those that have given themselves to service.

When you see armstrong and her laudable achievement you know beyond reasonable doubt that she desrves it.

Everyday of my life i work towards that one thing that will make a whole diferrence.

Thanks you my friend for dropping this valuable masterpiece that just reminded me that awesome call to purpose which is the main reason i am created.

I am me @brightfame

Nice to meet you @brightfame

Everyday of my life i work towards that one thing that will make a whole difference.

Perhaps simply working toward this is the difference :-)
Keep up the good work my friend

Bless your heart, brother. Yes, a life of service is a great calling, indeed. Gratifying to hear that Armstrong’s noble example inspires your life of purpose. I share posts such as this in hopes of an affirming response such as yours. Peace 🙏🏼

The word mythos comes from the Greek word which means to close the mouth or close the eyes. Mystery and mysticism come from the same root. .

Another aha moment for me @yahialababidi. Mythos comes from the Greek word to close the eyes or the mouth.

Remove yourself from the world, return to your inner knowing. There is myth.

Beautiful, as always, good sir.

Well put, my friend. Inner knowing, inner sight, are cultivated in silent meditation. Good to know this resonated with you. She's a good scholar, Armstrong, in full pursuit of those aha moments.

Wishing you a peaceful evening, @positiveninja _/|\_


Beautiful write up :)
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر في مقالنا اليومي
يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ اقله
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت مربح بحوالي 2.5 اضعاف :)

Kattar kheirkom :) Ms Armstrong is a real ally to all who believe in tolerance and a peaceful coexistence. Thank you, for supporting my work and hers _/|\_

It is amazin, thanks for sharing it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85