Stranded at the Border of Compassion—Singing Immigrant Blues in the USA

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

12B4B668-060A-424E-A7AA-5F60FD0F5EA4.jpeg

I have no doubt that we're being tested, always, to see who we are and who we wish to become. That when we close our doors and hearts to Others, we also diminish our own possibilities (‘cutting off our nose to spite our face’). And, ultimately, that our morality is the level of immorality we can afford to live with...

The other day, while doing my very best to avoid watching The State ot the Union, I was discussing matters of immigration with a Turkish woman I’d met for the first time, at a small get together. My guest had made the USA her home for over three decades but, even though she is a green card holder, felt a real existential insecurity every time she entered and exited the US. She worried the Muslim ban would, soon, extend to include Turkey and that like friends of hers, and stories she’d heard, she’d find herself stranded in the airport and unable to return to visit her children (who lived stateside).

3D7DD032-9231-4A8A-9F56-15C82A4E9A5E.png

Heartbreaking and sad, to see the US battling for its soul in this way, and all of us immigrants drawn by the American Dream, now finding ourselves unable to awaken from this American nightmare. Yet, having forged our new lives, here, we have no choice but to wait for our adopted home, (and the world, really) to sort itself out and remember its Ideals.

Yes, there is always beauty to perceive, the goodness of those who stand up for strangers and act out of the better angels of their nature, helping the defenseless, stranded at the border of compassion... But the ugliness of bigotry, also, bleeds through: the story of an infant that needs heart surgery, the ill woman that was turned away and died, the Syrians that waited 13 years to get here and then were denied entry, plus countless pitiful stories.

31C24FEC-9C9D-489B-B8E0-EFCDEEAB1523.jpeg

I see Trump's disease of hatred infecting people I once thought of as friends, even family. I try to get them to soften their hearts, see past fear, but it can be exhausting, at times. Yet, I also know that outside of this sickness is love, always love, and though it is now resting, it will rise again, strengthened. Meantime, here is a fine poem by Sherman Alexie that sings the immigrant’s blues:

761A144C-8E38-4939-9465-AB6B8E2A9157.jpeg

Autopsy

Last night, I dreamed that my passport bled.
I dreamed that my passport was a tombstone
For our United States, recently dead.
I dreamed that my passport was made of bone—
That it was a canoe carved out of stone.

“But I can’t swim,” I said. “I will drown
If I can’t make the shore. I’ll die alone
In the salt. No, my body will be found
With millions of bodies, all of them brown.”

I dreamed that my passport was a book of prayers,
Unanswered by the gods, but written down
By fact checkers in suits. “There are some errors
In your papers,” they said. Then took me downstairs

To a room with fingernails on the floor.
I dreamed that my passport was my keyware,
But soldiers had set fire to the doors,
To all doors—a conflagration of doors.

I dreamed that my passport was my priest:
“Sherman, will you battle the carnivores
Or will you turn and abandon the weak?
Will you be shelter? Or will you concede?”

Last night, I dreamed that my passport was alive
When it entered the ICU. It breathed, it breathed,
Then it sighed and closed its eyes. It did not survive.

CC11CD68-9D76-4968-A6B4-EC7167D73F55.jpeg

(All images: Pixabay)

If you appreciated this post, perhaps, you will enjoy the intimate conversation I had, below, with @authorofthings for @IsleofWrite, where I elaborate on some of these themes:

https://steemit.com/isleofwrite/@isleofwrite/conversations-with-authors-yahia-lababidi

Sort:  

My heart breaks for you, and your friends, and for us, the very ideals of this country, its very soul, such as we'd like it to be. Such as it ought to be....

"I’ll die alone
In the salt. No, my body will be found
With millions of bodies, all of them brown." - tears

Thank you, for your compassion, dear Inna. As you well know, we’re in this together, and that’s what hurts... how we’re hurting ourselves, with this unconscious living.

But, on good days (and there are many), I remind myself of all the quiet heroism that goes unreported & the countless decent people of conscience who speak up, all the time.

This, too, shall pass, it must. We will remember the semi-shameful ‘daze’ as growing pains. Evolution beckons...

‘The moral arc of the universe is long, but it bends towards justice.’

Only Love, Yahia


شكرا للمشاركة المميزة!
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)

This has been a horrific time, in the USA and elsewhere. In my mind, this post connects directly to my own post earlier today, Never Again: The Lesson We Have Failed To Learn, as both are about countries who are, right now, betraying their core principles. The US, a nation of immigrants (and a small, oppressed minority of natives, which should not be forgotten and is the reason I don't love "we are all immigrants" as a message), and Israel, a nation built on the promise of "Never Again."

Thanks, for reading, @didic & sharing the echo of your own experience. The more we, collectively, say Not in Our Name - instead of being silent, or the bribed defenders of our fear (as Kafka says) - the sooner we emerge from this mess we’re in.

Hopefully, it shall not take us too, too long to awaken 🙏🏼

Peace 🕊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yahia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 0.95% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @yahialababidi!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56