Pet Peeves

in #writing7 years ago

We all have stuff that we hate…stuff that drives us off the wall and gets under our skin. A killer flu coupled with a running nose, cramps and a running stomach are all terrible but how much does it irk you when someone chews gum too loudly in public while blowing insanely huge bubbles just to pop them or smacks their food as they eat? Is it so hard to chew with your mouth closed? Silently? It just screams ‘Look at me, I’m eating food.' 


Allow me to share some of my Pet Peeves with you. I should also add that these are my personal opinions/views. I know that we can't all agree on everything but hey!

  1. When someone says some kind of food is disgusting. Being allergic to it or not being able to stand it doesn’t make it disgusting. You also don’t need to start telling me how unhealthy it is and how you are on a diet right in the middle of the meal. Don’t even tell me afterwards. I probably won’t stop eating it but you’ll have ruined the mood. I love what I love. I will eat what I want and what makes me happy. Please try not to yuck my yum. 
  2. Noise makers in movie theatres. There is a reason why we’re all quiet in there, why those lights are turned down low and why the volume is loud. If I can hear you over it, surely we have a problem. Ask your questions later. We probably have them too, but we are patient enough to wait to see if the answers are in the next scene. Please read the room, fellow movie lover! 
  3. Bus preachers who assume we’re all lost souls bound for hell. You don’t know me. And the fact that you have to guilt trip us into giving offering while giving each and every one of us the stink eye…Miss me with that crap. No, the bus won’t crash because we won’t part with our hard-earned money. No, I won’t go get mugged or killed or fail to get back home safely.  
  4. It’s YOUR pet peeve, YOUR Steemit account…etc. Not ‘YOU’RE’. You’re not allowed to mix them up.  
  5. As you wait in line to buy food, please make sure you spend that time deciding what you want to order. You can observe and try to figure out the people around, build cas many castles in the air as you want, heck you can do whatever. The one and only obligation we all have as we stand in that line is that we at least use some of that time to make up our minds about what we want to eat before we get to that counter. You don't need to hold up the rest of us starving people trying to decide. Most of us are already grumpy as it is with our growling stomachs to prove it.
  6. Terrible customer service. You have a job. Millions of people would love to have one of those too but they don’t. How hard is it to do it well and treat customers with respect for supporting your business? Quit making me look like I’m begging you for service. 
  7.  2,345,678 government employees with a serious and crappy ‘Not my job’ mentality. Why are you even in that office then? Who do I need to talk to? Hello Immigration Kenya, this message is for you.  
  8. Slow walkers in Nairobi. Who are we kidding? Unless you have a thing for heaps of garbage, there are no sights to see and surroundings to take in in this city in the sun. No need to spend more time in it than necessary. You also don’t need to stop in the middle of the crowded streets to chit chat. I have a Tuskys Hotdog to go waste money on (not that they’re good anymore). 
  9. People who drive past a funeral procession and specifically the hearse yet we’re all going to the same place. I know the deceased doesn’t really care but a little patience won’t hurt. We’ll all get there. Relax. 
  10. People who feel the need to take pictures with money. Might be theirs, might not be. Who knows? But we don’t really believe you’re balling out of control. Trust me.  Word of advice though, kindly open a bank account and deposit that money. That’s what most normal people do. Let's keep banks in business.
  11. Websites that ask you to input your email address before browsing. Really? I’m only passing by and I might not even end up liking you after reading. Now you want to start sending me daily emails. I refuse to receive more junk mail. 
  12. People who don’t use their turn signals. Need I say more? 
  13. There are those who don’t know the difference between privilege and being blessed. If you asked me, I’d say that most people who like to say they’re ‘blessed’ are, in fact, just privileged. Could be both, but in my opinion, privilege has nothing to do with a few people being singled out by a deity for an existence that affords them benefits that most people cannot enjoy. 
  14. People who won’t wait for others to get off the bus before they begin to push their way in. We all have places to be. I won’t be in that bus forever. Besides, we are already on our way out. Wait for us to do so then you can go ahead and scramble to get in. We can’t be doing that “You let me pass first’ ‘No, you let me pass first” dance at the door. A shortage of buses doesn't excuse bad manners.
  15. People who misuse the word ‘literally’. Not everything you say is literal.  

More class and less trash this year good people! I'm also trying to have less annoying habits that others might consider pet peeves, I promise.

Sort:  

hahaha....this is very true...Literally...hope i did not misuse the word!!

I'm glad we agree. I know how you feel about #2 😂 About the misuse of the word literally...

lol, bus preachers. my pet peeve is guys who show always show up late for meetings, dates whatever. respect me enough to respect my time, period.

I've had too many bad experiences with bus preachers. They've earned their place on my list. As someone who used to show up late (which is why it's missing on the list), I'm very ashamed. Lol. But I learnt one good lesson and now I do my best to be early. Funny enough I think the universe is now punishing me for my 'days of lateness'. I spend too much time waiting for people and it pisses me off. As I said, I'm trying to improve myself too.

16 Guys who peep over your phone to see what you are doing, if I wanted to let you know, I would have shared.
17 Wedding committee's...
18 People who walk around with bottles full of lemon and ginger...we know its healthy please put it in a bag.
19 Hata nilikuwa nakupigia...classic

16.There are guys who hold their phones as if they want us to read/see. Why should I close my eyes when your screen is in my face? Lol. But you won't find me breaking my neck trying to see what you're upto if you're not in my personal space. hides face
17.Haven't had the fortune or misfortune of being in one so I haven't formed an opinion. Yet. I know the time is coming.
18.Leave the healthy ones alone 😂 Are we judging them harshly though? Maybe the big bottle won't fit into the tiny bag.
19.Ungekuwa unanipigia singekuwa nakupigia! I know the feeling

I like you eating. Humourous indeed

I tell i just mind my business and move on with life. Some of these things will make you go crazy.
Kwanza wale watu hukula fries na kuku kwa bus na emojis excess!! Ngai

These are so relatable, each and everyone of them. I see @cmbugua added a few. I am laughing when I remember the situations I have encountered this.

20.The bus conductors who keep your change yet they have it just so you can forget.

You're brilliant!- Great list!! Aside from the references to Nairobi/Kenya I thought you were living my life!! I am so glad I got all of this off my chest. More room for loving and letting be, now.

Thanks! I'm glad you could relate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48