Writer's advice: Waiting for that mystical muse to show up is the first step towards failure.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


source

I just decided to call myself a writer. It might be the first time ever. I guess I was inspired by a quote of arguably the worst singer ever - Florence Foster Jankins:

Some may say that I couldn't sing, but no one can say that I didn't sing.

Yeah, I keep writing a lot. So I thought to share some advises that I have learned from my journey so far. I just don't smart people to make those same mistakes all over again.

Previous tries to start writing

Well, for the last past year there was no day that I skiped writing. Whatever bad or stressful happened in my life - I never stopped writing.

It was different when I was much younger.

I always wanted to write. However, I only wanted to do it when I felt a writing muse being close to me. How rare is that? Well, maybe once a month or so. What did I do for the rest of the time? Just waited for the muse.

That is when I had this eye-opening conversation with the smartest woman on the planet - my mom. She asked:

Why don't you write more often? I know you have time.

I answered:

I don't feel the presence of the muse. I cannot provide any quality content without the help of her.

And that is when she said some words of brilliance:

Well, if you don't write when the muse is not here, do you think you will have enough experience to express yourself when she will come? I doubt that.

Those words sank into the depths of my mind and soul. How could I not realize it before? Yes, I might produce some shitty quality during the bad days, but it will still be practice. After all, writing is no different to anything else.

If a swimmer would only swim during the days he feels good, he would miss his form. If a singer would only practice on joyful days, she would sound like a screaming cat. If a writer only writes when the muse is present, he cannot write anything meaningful.

Practice practice practice

After I understood how important is to keep writing all the time, I just started doing it. It has been a year now and I have not stopped since. I am also not planning because only with practice good results come.

One might argue that talented people can provide without practice. However, I just wanted to ask... Do you imagine what they would be capable of if they actually gave a shit about their talents?

Are there any downsides of all this? Well, of course. Would it be fun without it?

  1. You will get exhausted.

Only silly people will think that writing is fun and does not require any energy. In my opinion, it is one of the most energy draining activities in the whole world. A good Steemit troll would say:

Just like steemsports and curie are draining the reward pool, Writingamigo is being drained by his writing.

And I couldn't agree more, except the fact, that I actually get drained. (just for the laughs)

  1. There will be a lot of bad content written. It might especially hurt perfectionists. However, just remember that nobody cares about how you play piano during the practice - it is the concert that counts. Writer's concert starts when the muse shows up.

I just wish that everyone who has ever heard that nonsense about writing only in the presence of the muse, would drop it. Real life does not work like that. Real life requires hard work, sleepless nights, and endless papers of your written texts.

So to all the writers out here:

Keep using your plume constantly, because otherwise, when the time will come, the ink will be dry


##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile

For more of my ideas, poems, observations, reviews, and thoughts, you can visit my lovely blog on Facebook!

Any follow, upvote, or(and) resteem is highly appreciated!

My job is to bring quality content to your feed. Your job is to interact (no one loves a nice discussion more than I do)!!!

Have a nice day, my fellow steemers! :)

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm certainly enjoying what you're write. Keep up the good work @writingamigo!

Thanks @cognoscere ! Thanks for so many kind words! I am always trying to do my best! The must is not here all the time, tho, but I think I can already do at least ok without her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51