Is Golf a Sport?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It’s boring to watch, there’s no hard hits and there’s little opportunity to stand up out of your seat and scream, “YEAH!” But is it a sport or is it a game? Webster defines a sport as, “An athletic activity requiring skill or physical prowess and often of a competitive nature.” And in golf, you must be athletic, have skill and prowess, and everyone wants to win (competitive nature.) But it’s so damn boring, am I right?

Or am I?

What are your thoughts?

image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Please, take a look at some of our recent posts and give us a follow!

Sort:  

I can see how some people like to watch it, but I honestly can't think of anything more boring than watching golf. I would definitely consider it as a sport, since even chess falls into this category. But I completely agree with you - I'd rather play cards with my grandmother and her friends on a saturday night :D

Friend I think it's a sport you say about physical dexterity I do not think anybody out of the blue takes a shot like those in tiger woods

@writesbackwards I believe golf is recreational activity not sports.

It is definitely a game, not a sport and yes, it is very boring

It is definitely a game, not a sport and yes, it is very boring

I find golf extremely boring, guess it's sport for the elites tho

Golf requires incredible skill, speed, patience. The competitive nature of the game suggests it is sport. Typical elements of sport such as fitness and strength aren't required. I love the game. But anything you can do while drinking and smoking should NOT be considered a sport!

No, it's for old people they want to stay away from there wife

hahaha so true

It's only boring if you aren't any good and don't understand it. It's definitely a sport and a sport for the best athletes with the most brain power and most self reliance. Every shot on the golf course you'll ever take will be slightly different from any before, so a golfer has to be able to adapt to many variables quickly. Also, as stated above, when you lose in golf, it's on you, there's no teammates or coaches to blame, just you and the golf course out there.

I think that golf is sport. It does not like a sport but I think that is hard on psychic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43