Hand Jobs - Time for a Rebranding

in #writing6 years ago

It’s always struck me as funny that the term “hand job” exists. Of the JOBS out there, it’s a fairly easy one (unless you have carpal tunnel syndrome… then it’s a real pain in the wrist.) But for most people, it’s a squeeze and a pump and a repeat until it’s over.

But I guess there in lies the problem with calling it a “job.”

Job’s aren’t fun. Jobs are jobs. Jobs are working at the bank for 8 hours and a 30 minute lunch break with Gladys who talks too much about her couch covers. Jobs are driving around, scooping up golf balls while old men and frat boys hit balls at you, with the only thing stopping you getting a head caving brain injury, is a rusty cage that’s older than you.

That’s a job. Jobs suck (but that’s another article entirely.)

But an “old-fashioned”… now that’s a title more suitable to the generous, wrist shaking kindness someone gives another. It’s timely. Elegant in it’s simplicity, and with an aroma of class. For an old fashioned, you might shine your shoes, part your hair, and iron your shirt. For an old fashioned, you might get a little lube or a nice lightly scented oil take your time. For an old fashioned, you might not cry at the end of it.

“Ye olde rub’n tug” has a similar joie de vivre, but is a bit more playful and induces the fun out door feelings of a farmer’s market or a drive in movie theater.

In this day and age, where we’re all so damn bitter and disconnected, I say we take back this simple delicacy of yore and start calling this kindness by a more suitable name.

Next to tackle? “Finger blasting.”

Just… no.

Thoughts?

You tell me.



image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Consider leaving a comment, we love rewarding engaging Steemians!

Sort:  

I am going to be honest, I just came to read the spam comments :) Nice light-hearted post on a topic that can be seen as taboo to some. You have to admit though, those other four comments are gold based on the subject matter...

Ugh, they're about to get the flag!

Fly it high! Will they get the flag at full mast or half mast? You know, going with the theme of your post :) Next time you should write a post about something really horrible and see what kind of comments you get.

Got any suggestions? hahaha

Oh I had a few I was going to suggest but I chickened out :)

Would "choking the chicken", "beating the meat", "bopping the bologna" be more fun terms? I like that you take this issue head on. Is it a job if you're enjoying it though?

It's important to tackle the issues that matter. Thanks for your suggestions, but I'll admit, when I think of bologna, it's usually flat slices, which made me think someone had "bopped" it so hard it flattened out. And that's not fun for anyone.

I always considered a "hand job" to be work for the self employed. An economical deployment of man-power and time to acheive a satisfactory result. The notion of contracting out this service to another party is quite alien to me (either for favour or a fee)... It's just awquard ... Or maybe my previous contractors didn't have enough experience under their belt? All squeeze and yank, felt like they wanted to rip my nob off every time. (Sorry I am just not at all into pain or discomfort, thinking about it makes my eyes water).
As a one man job often conducted in the shed or garage I enjoy such euphemisms as having an "oil change" or "waxing the flagpole"... Still jobs but more enjoyable unrushed and undisturbed... Almost meditative.😁

Hey, love this post. I did a similar post about "hand jobs" a few days ago, with a different twist. Everyone has their own version of a "hand job" that they prefer I guess. If you have time, check my blog page and see if you like that kind of "hand job". Love your take on it, really cool!

The post made me lol, but your reply to the spam comments made me lol even more! Thanks for making my day

@writesbackwards It is a "job" for some people in a certain profession

Hand job is a great term!

It can be hard work, and your hand can ache - a lot - it becomes a job...

But also - you can enjoy your job!... even if it's hard work sometimes..- ! I do.

It's true, they say a job you enjoy, isn't a job at all.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #37! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

I wish i can call you the great, excellent work is made in you boss, you have the heart of a genius idea and you have been so fantastic person boss...

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

buildawhale payout in the amount of $103 STU, $199 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $103 STU, $199 USD before curation, with approx. $26 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @writesbackwards and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81