19 and the Incompletes

in #writing6 years ago

That’s a good band name… Anyhow…

We start this incomplete list of my worst to best stadiums with the incompletes and the single worst stadium I’ve been to. My ratings are based on the parks location, accessibility, a local brew and a hot dog and the parks appeal and identity. In this article, I’ll also lay the groundwork on how I plan to see each and the appeal. So here we go.

IMG_0322.JPG

19.O.co Coliseum (1966)- This, my friends, is a miserable place. I first went there in 2013 on Reggie Jackson Bobble head day and people were angry. A friend and me were staying at a rat-infested hotel a mile away and decided to walk to the game. This was our first mistake. People threw bottles at us out their car windows as they drove by. The walk to the place was through an abandoned industrial park. It was not fun.

1.jpg

When we got to the parking lot, we were harassed even more. The seats, which were in the same areas I normally buy, were even more expensive than there cross the bay rivals, the San Francisco Giants. The local brew and hot dog were sub standard and expensive. As we sat in the stands, we did meet a few nice people. One lady in particular begged us not to walk back to the motel and offered to pay for our ride. The field conditions were nice but overall is was not a good place to see a game. Once I complete the list of all the stadiums in the majors, I expect this one to take it’s rightful place at the bottom.

The Incompletes: Because theses trips are rather expensive, I try to see a couple at a time. Rogers Centre (1989) and Comerica Park (2000) will be one trip. Toronto might be the hardest stadium to get to so I’m lumping Detroit in with the trip to pair it up. Progressive Field (1994), Great American Ball Park (2003) and PNC Park (2001) will be another. A trip through Ohio and western Pennsylvania will do nicely. Target Field (2010) and Miller Park (2001) will be the targets, see what I did there, as I hit the mid-west. Tropicana Field (1990), Marlins Park (2012) and Sun Life Park (2017) will be the stops as I drive through the panhandle up to Atlanta. Finally, Minute Maid Park (2000) with be the only stop on it’s own as I want to spend some time at Johnson Space Center while I’m in Houston.




image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Please, take a look at some of our recent posts and give us a follow!

Sort:  

No Citizens Bank Park while cruising through PA? While their fans can be quite harsh...at least Eagle and Flyer fans...the facility is nice and there are some great food options. Great write up idea btw.

well a good thought but government need to took care of their stadiums ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73