The Power of Self-ForgivenesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

What do you mean, "Forgive Yourself"?

This is the Question i asked when i was first introduced to the concept and tool, "Self-Forgiveness"

My thinking at the time was: It's not about Forgiving yourself....it's about asking other people for Forgiveness.

'Why would i need to forgive myself'?
Why wouldn't I?

Enter, "Authority"....specifically, "Self-Authority". Notice the 'Author' in and as Authority.
Who is the Author and therefore Authority of Your Life?
You.

This is a huge realization.
Why?
Our World is a result of our Words.

Self-Forgiveness is "Word" and "World" Accountability and Response Ability. Taking care to manage ourselves in the best ways possible.

When we say something in a reactionary state of haste...or anger...or spitefulness or any other reactionary state for that matter we create a physical impression as how the words resonates throughout our body. It's stored within our body at a cellular level. "self-Forgiveness" is the authorized permission to Release that energetic friction. It's like changing our mind...our vote ....our word...our wold as what we stand for and what we accept and allow.

It's a fascinating thing indeed because it's working with ourselves in body and mind to be the best that we can be. I mean if you think about it....we develop particular lenses of perception based on our emotional biases and preferences over time. Speaking Self-forgiveness is a self-labored effort to correct our mistakes and misfortunes. It settles that water within ourselves, quiets our minds.

When we have a fight with someone and there is a lot of verbal garbage flung back and forth, this is a result of perpetuating our Internal Conflicts back and forth. It's interesting in the sense that it is very self-revealing and in fact showcases our own internal weaknesses as our own glossed view and perception of reality. There's a ton of reasons how we could have developed a flaw within ourselves as a point of judgement.

Self-Honesty is our In-House Accounting. Our Awareness. Realizing what we accepted and allowed within ourselves. It is our words.

I found that initially I had resistance to testing out self-forgiveness.
Why?
I was uncomfortable to actually bring up the point that i didn't in fact like. It was embarrassing and shameful to my mind as ego....and that wasn't exactly an ego stroking positive energetic short living high euphoria asserted within and as a blissful ignorance. No, in fact quite contrary...it was actually a major point of self-reflection and Humbleness to realize myself here One and Equal as Life.

My Life before Self-Forgiveness was more in vain. Party and Bullshit...fueled by an ever mounting internal conflict that kept me in a fluctuating state of Defensiveness and Offensiveness....and my so called coping mechanism was Suppression. Just forget about the experiences that surface within myself that I did not like.

Self-forgiveness is the tool that empowers me to create, to write, to collaborate, to move myself as a point of Directive Will where my word is my bond.

Self-forgiveness has enabled me to Learn and grow in so many ways. See it's fascinating, when we remove the cognitive dissonance within our mind and body as our charged/heated emotional and feeling biases we are of sound mind on the particular point of attention.

I had a lot of deep seated animosity within me towards my parents, and the relationship had been strained for years. I had many times thought of how i wanted it to be better...but ultimately what always kind of unfolded was fighting...you know strong emotional outbursts...or the polar opposite in just flat out suppression....you know...just shut up and bury what's coming up. This just compounded the issues even more.

Self-forgiveness became a structured solution for me to release the layers of hard feelings/emotions within myself...which, elevated my sense of well being...and guess what...totally changed my outlook on Life for the Better. Not to mention every single relationship in my Life.

Suggestion: Test it out and give 'Self-forgiveness' a whirl for yourself. It's eye opening as our Realization and Response Ability to grow and mature in ways that are all ways better. tree leaf golden spruce.jpg

Sort:  

This resonates with a few of the lessons from ACIM, the original work urtext edition. I wonder if you know anything about that, it might interest you immensely if not: http://www.miraclevision.com/acim/urtext/acim-urtext-2003-upe-ready-edition.pdf

Thank You very much for the share! I love reading :)
I am not familiar with the names you share here...so again, thank you so much...love connecting like this. I was introduced to self-forgiveness by Bernard Poolman.

Didn't know anything about him, but from a top result after a quick search it seems that he was responsible for quite an amount of shared wisdom and by the way they talk about him, a honest bruttalist :) I'll read more about him when I get a chance, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85