Dog friends 1

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

As one gets older and has a longer personal history of experiences, relationships with people and things, it becomes easier to look back at moments that stand out as special in one's timeline. The experiences may change in order of importance, but the personal experiences seem to keep their relative importance.

For me, there is a scattering of selected people here and there; some briefly present and others of long term standing. Also for me are the animals that have been important simply because I liked them because they trusted me and shared their time willingly. There has been only one person I liked instantly and forever at first sight, but there have been many dogs I became bonded with when we first met .

You have to be a lover of animals to understand that. If you are so fortunate, good for you! If you have sadly missed that in your life, you have an opportunity to change that. There are far too many neglected animals in shelters, awaiting rescue, and facing an early death should someone not want to share a home with them. Rescue pets are good medicine for your soul.

This is Inza

He is one of the special ones. He belonged to a neighbor and I helped bring him home and get him established in his new life. In return, he loved playing with me and never once stopped on his own accord when I visited. He was lightning fast when he ran and easily made circles around me with his endless energy, excitement, and love of play. When playtime was over, he slept at my feet. If I had a lap available, he sat in it looking straight at me with his ears perked while awaiting me to speak to him. When I did speak softly to him, his ears lowered and his eyes got soft and moist as he squinted slightly, showing pure pleasure that I acknowledged him. Rubbing his ears was comforting to both of us.




When I had to leave, he followed me to the gate and sat and watched me as long as he could see me as I disappeared along the winding path through the woods. His owner told me that he often sat at the gate and looked at the long path, waiting for me to magically appear. He would sit until sleep won and he curled up against the gate, still waiting for his friend who would certainly arrive at any moment.

A small, ten pound Pomeranian dog sitting and waiting.

I was working outdoors once and got a call from Inza's person: "Inza has been waiting at the gate for an hour. Do you have time to visit so you two can play?"

Yes, indeed I do!

When he saw me as I rounded a curve in the narrow path through the trees, he began running in circles and barking with all the volume and excitement he could muster.

For a long time after his death, walking around that last curve in the path gave me a feeling of emptiness, sadness, and absence. The barks echoed in my mind but I gradually forgot the sound. I never see the gate without the memory of the orange, very happy little fellow, rejoicing at my arrival.

Savor the good times so you can remember. Without memories, you did not have a life

I made the photograph and I retain all rights. Permission to enjoy is freely given.

Comments from real people are welcomed.

Will


Sort:  

You restore my faith in humanity you do. Thanks for that :)

Thank you, my friend @steemonkey. The little fellow brought so much joy I needed to memorialize him and the part he played in my life.

I think you did that very well. Very touching indeed.

Congratulations @willymac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

He was a sweet dog, and I believe he also been waiting for you at the rainbow bridge!

Of course he will be, along with a long list of other dear friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27