You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Biggest Problem, The One That We All Pretend Doesn't Exist

in #writing7 years ago

It is just not something I see as a problem. If it is interesting and engaging, I simply don't care. It isn't that it is being ignored. I did at one point get offended about it... And then I got over it. If you can write a bot so well, I can't tell if it is real. More power to you.

Sort:  

I followed a suspicious looking comment back to the author's blog once, to discover that the entire account was automated. It was pulling posts from the internet, and cycling through one of ten or so comments on random posts to get attention back on the blog.

I expect that many don't realise that account is fully automated. There's probably a lot more of them that I haven't come across yet too.

But yeah, I'm not saying it's difficult to deal with, but it certainly does effect my overall enjoyment of the platform. Luckily, I enjoy it here a lot. So, even with the problem I mentioned, it's still fucking decent.

Yes, I hear you. Someone in SteemSpeak challenged me on hating automation for the sake of hating automation. After I challenged myself, I couldn't come up with a reason it is a problem. :) But I do understand that it bothers some.

I don't mind the bots too much. But, we have seen that they can be used as weapons, or as tools of abuse. But, what cannot be twisted into a weapon these days?

it's just not something i see as a problem, if it is interesting and engaging

Well, IMO it stops being interesting and engaging when people are afraid to talk about their real ideas/beliefs and that stifles free exchange of ideas. We don't want people "censoring" themselves, and being superficially nice is kind of just that, which defeats the very purpose of this platform. It might not look like a big problem right now, but it sure as hell is going to be one when it's user base increases, as is always the case when there is monetary incentive, and that might be the "deciding factor" for this site's succes
.
I've seen threads on the "hot" section that have literally all comments on the lines of "great post" ,"nice post " ,"resteemed and upvoted " , "please follow" etc. It can be a big turn off for potential users in the future

I do agree with that being a problem. To me that is a different issue. Thank you for bringing it up.

New user. I'm a bit turned off by seeing "resteem this" or "please follow" pictures at the end of posts, especially when they can be so big. If I like what I see, I'll do those things, no need to beg.

As far as censoring, I am guilty of that. It's hard to be open. If I can remain engaged in this platform I definitely want to use it as a way to work through that (hence the name). Results, rewards are not going to matter to me (as long as I can help it). If we can build a culture of openness, genuineness then the most important kinds of content will be rewarded without everyone trying so hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68857.19
ETH 2715.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72