Being a Vet

in #writing5 years ago

nature-3126513_1920.jpg
[img source pixabay]

Often when people listen I am a Vet, answer saying that it was their dream job... that it one of the best job ever etc. I normally reply with a smile or sometimes I say "can we swap our job?" always followed by a big smile.

Don't get me wrong my job is a cool job and I like it but there are many days where I regret having chosen this life. I wanted to be an IT or software developer and actually I can still be one of those but it isn't easy now that I have an age and I tend to forget many things.

Yesterday I have had the lovely conversation with my manager that gave me the notice that I have been chosen to be working for Christmas due to the fact that I had the last 2 off (not considering that I have been working the last 2 Easters in row) so the imagine has been chosen as I feel as the bale in the field... left there alone because I have no relatives in UK and this is not fair at all.

This clearly makes me angry but it is part of the job... this year is my time... next (if I will still be working in this role) will be someone else time. Let's take it with philosophy.

Do you like me.png

Sort:  

Never is too late to do your will.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @webdeals, how are you doing? What a great job and truly noble. I think you also like helping injured animals. In my country there are very few veterinarians, so if there are injured animals no one will treat them until many animals die. I hope you enjoy your work, sir. Have a nice day.

that is very sad :( it might be because the medicine costs is too high and they rather prefer leave them in their status. What country is it?

@elianaelisma that's really sad. In India we have government clinics where they provide free treatment and also give free medicines up to a cost.

Posted using Partiko Android

thats nice! I think you have some problem with strays over there isn't it?

Yeah , we have lot of strays but they are accommodated to humans.

Posted using Partiko Android

The wonderful thing about vet or doctor is they gonna loved by people got treatment from them and make them part in their lives. IT or software engineers are great no disrespect, but they don't get satisfaction or appreciation from client or job because always new things comes up and everyone forgets them irrespective of their work.

Hope you love animals as you are a vet and recieve all the love you deserve from them and their owners.

Posted using Partiko Android

that is true... even if you don't get only love from your customers. At the end of the day for how much you might love your job... it is a job and you need to bring money back home otherwise you won't be able to pay your rent/fees etc.

Yeah true. Earning is important in this competitive life. Satisfaction and happiness are bonus

Posted using Partiko Android

no it isn't more important but without it I can't pay my fees and the life will be stressful more than it is normally

Hope he remember to give you Easter off.

let's see what will happen... I will definitely say NO if she asks me to have easter at work.

We live in rural North Carolina USA and have Jersey Dairy cows. Without the dedication and care we get from our traveling vet, it would be much harder to care for our animals to a standard we demand. Vets are the unsung heroes for us animal lovers. Keep up the good work and hoping your Christmas is not too busy.gracie2.jpg

oh man I love jersey cattle! Nice and fat milk :) thanks for this lovely message <3 it gives me a nice smile and cancel the hard and awful day of today :D

Congratulations @webdeals! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hah. I would also get peeved because people with children often seemed to get preferential voting rights on those special days/holiday periods too

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48