Wintering InsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Last week I received both my arctic bibs, long parka, and neck gaiter, which I had ordered online from various sources. The bib was much larger than I had anticipated; it has a temperature rating of minus 55 degrees Fahrenheit, putting it away was like stuffing a sleeping bag into one of those little nylon bags that they come it. They never really quite fit the way they should. I also was taken back by the quality of the long parka when it had arrived. It is very light weight and the materials seem to be to thin for my peace of mind. The coat can only be worn as an outer shell and in a dry cold environment. I had read the reviews before this purchase and so I wasn't overly surprised when I finally received the coat. Only field testing will uncover if my doubts about the quality of construction and the thinness of the materials are justified. During this project I had separated my arctic clothing gear from my emergency food stores and ended up with a bag of oddities that I will need for my eventual move to Alaska, but are not essential. I managed to repack all of my supplies into one internal frame backpack and one duffle bag. This is about the most that I can carry during my travels.

This process has taught me that one the one hand, I have to many things in which I would like to either sell or give away, and that there are some things in which I need to acquire. I currently live in Northern Utah, and the winters here are very cold, but not as consistently cold as Alaska. I can get away with wearing layers of tattered cotton clothing here, but not up there. While I was sorting all of my winter cloths and putting away my summer things, I was mindful of preparing for a third category of winter; the arctic.

The experience with this project has given me a perspective about my current state of readiness for both the approaching winter in Utah and for the anticipated winters in Alaska. It is a good thing to know were one stands in relation to winter readiness, however, I must admit that I feel the gnawing of apprehension as to my preparation for the coming ordeal. I realize that this is a good thing as overconfidence is dangerous in such a deadly environment.

Sort:  

For anything colder than about twenty below, I always feel warmer in layers and layers of wool/fur with a light leather outer shell than in any of the more modern cold weather gear. The downside, of course, is the extra weight. Happy travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67103.13
ETH 2617.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69