Ode to Pennsylvania

in #writing8 years ago


Ode to Pennsylvania

When I was younger it was hard for me to imagine how diverse this state was. When you grow up near the city, you tend to think that it’s the only place that exists. The world is encompassed by this small but large congregation of buildings and people. Only ten miles north there is a whole new world and it flips your world upside down. With so many different suburbs and townships all with their stories and memories, you can’t keep up. The mannerisms and trends change as you drive deeper mid-state. Sometimes I think that Pennsylvania could be its own country. It truly is a state to remember.

Suburbia is calm. The normality along the main line is monotonous, almost dreary. Towns of people who are born there, get jobs, buy houses, start a family of their own, and the unending cycle repeats. Almost as if you are destined to be cursed if you are born amongst these morally bankrupt towns. There can be an unequivocal beauty to this. Everyone knows each other’s names and family stories. Between the copious amount of Irish bars and Starbucks, a certain comradery resides there. After a while things just grow on you and before you know it, you’re attached. We grow and survive together. It hasn’t always been easy but we are strong when united. There is a particular love for one another that we hold.

You can’t divulge into the state of PA without mentioning the Appalachian Mountains. The insect rode getaway for anyone that fancy’s the wilderness. Most Pennsylvanians have a story to tell about the Poconos or the Blue Mountain resorts. These quiet areas give one the opportunity to forget about life. I’ll be leaving behind many stories of my adventures there as a child.

The city of Philadelphia is what I’ll miss the most. The buildings towering over the overflowing streets, and the deafening sound of sirens and car horns beeping at each other. After the better part of my short life here, I don’t need headphones to drown out the sound. I love it. Maybe I just appreciate it more with the thought of knowing that I’ll soon be gone. It is sad to think that so many people believe that the great city of Philadelphia is brimming with crime and killing. They don’t know how charming it can be. Their eyes have never been blessed with the view of Philly Art Museum. Their hearts have never been touched by the beautiful voices of the train singers. They haven’t lived to see the statues of our fallen veterans. It is a tragedy that they cannot have the same appreciation of Philadelphia that I do.

No matter how many hundreds or thousands of miles away I am, I will never forget home. From the sweet taste of chocolate from Hershey or the melodic guitar solos in Jefferson station. I am constantly inspired by my surroundings and I am grateful that I was able to experience this. Even though I am aware that I must part away to follow my dreams, nothing will change the fact that Pennsylvania shaped me into who I am today. If I’m in the middle of Guatemala or Tokyo, I’ll still look back to the motherland that is this beautiful state.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83