Tom

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I present you a new shrink-adventure from the 6th floor. If you like to join the weekendfreewrite please do so. See @mariannewest.

The sound had finally moved away from him.

He felt scared like he always did. How come he had not become used to it?
It followed him since years and should be familiar to him by now.
The high tones, the screaming. He knew he was the only person able to hear it. No one ever mentioned it. For years he tried to ignore it, act normal so he would not end up in a mental institution.

"If you cannot beat them, join them", he mumbled.

It was year's ago he heard these words in a cartoon. Was it Woody Woodpecker?
Woody was not really the type to give in. That crazy, annoying bird always won each battle.

"Come on old boy, it's medication time".

His neighbour grabbed him at his arm.

"I get your meds like promised?"

"Sure. As long as you keep your mouth shut."

Together they walked to the hallway. Pills were waiting for them. Both kept silent, there was nothing more to say.

"The wolf would only have to wait for her", he said, she would follow him everywhere.

"Hush", his neighbour said, "she can hear you. Have you seen her ears?"

He pulled him inside his room and held up his hand.

"Give me your pills."

As he handed them over and they were swallowed by the neighbour he said: "They will come and get you. I heard them talking. This is a dangerous place. You shouldn't be here. It is a good thing you have that little screamer with you."

"You can hear it, the sound, those high tones, the screaming?"

"Of course I can. I am one of them."

He nodded in the direction of the doorway.

"There is nothing wrong with my ears. You better get yourself ready to jump, free yourself before it's too late."

For a moment both men observed each other.

"No need to be afraid it will work out fine. Once out visit the Lady. She's a shrink nowadays and will help you find your way. Give her my love."

"He knew my name?"

He nodded and waited for her answer.
She seemed to be in thoughts.

"You can join our therapy group on Thursdays. Where will you stay?"

He shrugged.

"Get inside, we will find you a place tomorrow."

As he walked inside the sound started again.

"Shut up!" She yelled at it.

At instance, it obeyed.

"Tom, you amaze me. How can you tolerate such behaviour for so many years? Never thought about raising that damned poltergeist of yours?

The picture is a pixabay.com pic

More shrink stories you find here:

  1. Twenty years https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/weekendfreewrite-twenty-years-hqnsuuko?referrer=wakeupkitty
  2. A small gesture works wonders. https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/weekendfreewrite-a-small-gesture-works-wonders-3htqe9l1?referrer=wakeupkitty
  3. Balancing on the edge https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/freewriting-balancing-on-the-edge-n4mjm3q9?referrer=wakeupkitty
  4. Trust me https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/freewriting-trust-me-trqkgh5c?referrer=wakeupkitty
  5. Parroting Peter https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/parroting-peter-pyxuh9b6?referrer=wakeupkitty
  6. Sailing the oceans https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/sailing-the-oceans-cnjwbe7o?referrer=wakeupkitty
  7. Once and never again! https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/once-and-never-again-4w071rz6?referrer=wakeupkitty
  8. Oliver https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/oliver-umayrhvb?referrer=wakeupkitty
  9. Meet Lucy https://partiko.app/wakeupkitty/meet-lucy-tjcoogck?referrer=wakeupkitty

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I just had medication time for my dog Carly. She becomes crazed when we have thunderstorms. She tries to dig up the floor which turns me into a mad woman! All of us have some kind of demon or ghost to haunt us.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The demon will leave if you accept it or fight it. If the meds help it is good to give het peace with it. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

This was a bit scary! Great fiction writing! Meds can really do a number on us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for reading and commenting 😝💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @wakeupkitty

I hope you won't mind this post (it's not really related in any way to your current publication).

I've been just wondering if you joined PALnet airdrop (PALnet is a token build on Steem-engine).

If you didn't claim it then perhaps I could ask you for small favour. Would you consider claiming your tokens and selling or delegating it to me for few months? I would obviously pay you some STEEM for those tokens (I can even pay for delegation - I want to invest some time and money into that platform).

How to claim your token?

a) login in http://palnet.io/ (it's build on STEEM blockchain, so you will use same login details)
b) login in steem-engine.com
c) claim your tokens -> to do that you need to open steem-engine.com and go to "wallet". In left-top corner you will have PALnet (blue colour) logo. Click on it and claim your PAL tokens.
d) go to your palnet wallet and either transfer your PAL tokens to crypto.piotr or STAKE it and delegate to me (click STAKE and then "advanced" and simply type in my username).

Amount of received tokens depend mostly on your current level of SP (I'm not sure if delegations are being taken into consideration as well).

So based on my current experience, if you have 200 STEEM POWER then you should be able to receive something around 100-150 PALnet tokens.
I would pay you 10 STEEM for purchasing each 100 of those PAL tokens. So basically you can earn something and help me grow on this particular platform, making both of us happy :) Plus you would sell/delegate those tokens without bringing down their current price (you won't need to dump them on exchange).

You would earn some extra STEEM and I would have higher STAKE in this platform.

I've only 500 STEEM I can spent on that purpose (plus airdrop will not last forwer) so HURRY UP :) :)

Cheers,
Piotr

I use the platform and will figure out how to transfer to you
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @wakeupkitty do you wake or still sleeping just joking How I can be a freewriter I see a lot of posts 5 minutes of freewriting

I am awake 😁. It is easy to be a free writer.

You simply write without thing your story out first. I do this most of the times for a certain period.

If you join the freewriters here you write for 5 minutes.

Every day @mariannewest gives a prompt. You use this prompt and write what pops up in your mind (or write what you like to write about and say you can not use that prompt 😁).

You make a post about it and leave your link. The best thing is to leave it with the last given freewrite prompt.
I did so with my story Tom it was the freewrite of last Saturday with 3 given prompts (3x 5 minutes).

On Tuesdays you can recommend freewrites as a reply see the post @freewritehouse.

So you can simply join and leave your link and you are in. No need to do something special.

@freewritehouse offers a lot of extra's too.

Good luck hope to see you there too.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Too creepy for me my friend. i am too sensitive :)

I'm here as the Sunday Freewrite encourager. Keep going as I know you will :)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-619-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-pizza

Creepy? That means it is better as I thought. At first I didn't know what to write about.

Thanks for the pizza.. Not my favourite food.💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46