Ghost Story #1 - Shadow

in #writing7 years ago

Hey guys! It's me again. So I guess it's time for me to start posting ghost stories like I promised that I would. But before I get to the actual story I just want to say a couple of things. First of all, these stories are stories that other people have told me that either happened to them or their friends. Second, yes it might not be real and they might've just made up these stories but even then I will still post them because I find stories like these interesting and I know a lot of other people do too. And lastly, this is the first time in a very long while that I've decided to start writing again so please forgive my writing skills and do provide criticism so I can improve on what I need to improve. Okay so here goes.
  
  
Shadow

  
            It's a Friday night and like always I am out partying with my friends. After a couple of shots my bladder starts to feel a bit full so I excuse myself from the present company to go to the toilet. When I get there no one's around so I enter the nearest stall to do my thing. While staring down at the toilet bowl I notice a shadow in the stall beside me which I found a bit strange since all the cubicle doors were thrown wide open and I could've sworn I was the only one in there. So after peeing I went out of my stall and decided to check the stall beside mine. The door was still open and there was no one inside. I found it really strange but maybe I was just imagining things so I went ahead and rejoined our group.

  
            After a couple more hours and a few more shots we decide to head home for the night. But as I'm walking home to my apartment I can't seem to shake of this feeling of dread. I get home and I hurriedly lock the door and noticed there was a shadow moving back and forth outside my door. I called and there was no answer. So I stooped down and took a peek through the crack below my door. Nothing and the shadow was gone. I was creeped out but decided to keep calm. Who knows maybe it's just the alcohol? So I head to my bedroom, took off my clothes and plopped down on the bed.
  
            I wake up a couple of hours later and I feel like I'm not alone even though I live by myself. I'm afraid to open my eyes. I take a couple of deep breaths and finally open them. I'm lying on my back and I'm staring at the ceiling of my dark room. But something didn't feel right. I stare harder at the ceiling and for sure there was a shadow there. The room was really dark but I could just feel it floating above my bed. Something about that area just felt darker than the rest. I cover myself with my sheets and shut my eyes close hoping that it would go away. I wake up a couple of hours later and the sun is shining through my window. I felt relieved but I would never be able to forget the fear that I felt that night.
  
            Life went on as usual and I did not see anymore of that strange shadow. But a year later I was working late at the office and there were only three of us left at that time. One of my colleagues went out to smoke and me and my other colleague stayed inside trying to finish up our work fast. That was when I saw a shadow pass the corridor leading to our office from the corner of my eye. It was our other colleague returning to resume his work. I felt uneasy. For a second there I thought the horrors of that night was gonna come back to haunt me again. Half an hour later I finish my job and decide to call it a night. I said goodbye and made my way to the corridor when there in front of my eyes another shadow passed. I stopped in my tracks and let my heart calm down before checking to see if anyone was there. No one. Panicked, I ran outside and looked back. To me that night, every window in our office building looked like there were shadows going back and forth and lurking behind them. I felt frightened. I wanted to cry. It wasn't because I was scared of a shadow but because that shadow brought with it some unexplainable dread. I blinked, took a deep breath and went to the nearest bar. No way was I going home sober to my empty apartment. I took a couple of shots and soon forgot about my fears.After a couple more shots I decided to head home. When I got to my apartment everything was quiet. I was so drunk that I immediately fell asleep as soon as my head touched the pillow.
  
            That night I woke up again and felt the same presence that I did last year. I opened my eyes and expected it to be on the ceiling above my bed again. I was relieved. I turned over to my side and there it was crouching beside my bed looking at me. I could barely make out that it was shaped like a man but there was something about the head or maybe it was just my imagination but it looked like it had horns. It was staring right at me and even though it had no eyes I could feel its gaze on me. I could also feel that whatever it was, it was laughing at me. Again maybe it was just my imagination but I could somehow feel or hear inside my head a really low unearthly laugh. I threw my pillow at it but it just went right through then I blacked out from fear. The next day I woke up and thought that maybe it was all just a dream, but I looked around and saw that the pillow I threw last night was lying three feet away from my bed on the floor and on the edge of my bed the sheets were crumpled like someone grabbed them.


image source

End.

So this story was told to me by one of my friends while we were drinking. This happened to him 6 years ago while he was working in a different city. He is still unsure whether or not he was just imagining things because he was so stressed with his job. But he was really shaken by that experience and you could tell that he was still getting chills while he was telling me his story. So far he has not experienced anything of the sort again.

Sort:  

resteemed!
:/ hope this doesnt happen to me T.T scary

Great story. Glad you started with posting. Hope for the best and if at first you don't make it don't let it stop you from doing your passion. Proud of you son.

:D youre home? hahahahha
hi dad

Thanks pa. I'll try to post more often.

Upvoted and resteemed! Thanks for sharing!

I am a horror fanatic! And I like hearing, watching, reading this kind of stories. Nice job! I felt the chills! :)

Thank you so much! Hopefully I can get better at this. Hoping to post pictures of creepy places around our city soon too. :D

@vocafrost, I told you I was gonna read your stories but lol, it's 12 midnight and I just had to stop near the end. I'll finish the story when the sun's up.

Thanks! I had chills writing my own story I'm just not sure if other people would feel the same. But please do finish it and tell me what you think. :D

Whew. I was glad I stopped last night when I read "horns". Way too creepy.
Excellent retelling. I liked the climax part - you nailed it; really really creeped me out.
And I'm glad to know it did not happen again to your friend, it's like the happy ending of the story.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :D

Pretty creepy bro! I had that shadow experience myself. I saw a shadow walked behind me when there was no one around our house. Started telling everyone in the household and soon everybody started seeing it. It naturally stopped after all of us had seen it. As if it just wanna make itself known.

Creepiest was when I saw 2 powdery footprints from my closet door leading up to my ceiling. Didn't slept in my room for days!

I guess sometimes they just want to be noticed. Lol. And wow. If that happened to me I would move out of my house. Haha. I may write horror stories but I am actually a scaredy cat. XD

Haha same here man. Big fan of scary stuff but I hear one strange noise and Im packing up. Following for more scary stories man!

Thank you so much! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55